Sage KnowledgeSage HTML Full-TextSage PDF Full-Text
This is the "Home" page of the "Persistent URLs (PURLs) -- How to Create Them" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persistent URLs (PURLs) -- How to Create Them  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2014 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/permanentlinking Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About permanent links

In most library databases, the URL in the navigation bar of your internet browser contains session information that will expire. This means that cutting and pasting a database article's URL straight from your internet browser creates a broken link. 

The majority of library databases generate permanent links to articles or article citations. These permanent links - or PURLS - are located in different places for each database vendor, and are created for cut-and-paste functionality. 

Within a library database, PURLS may also be called "bookmarks" or "favorites." 

To guarantee that these permanent links function for off campus users, make certain that information for the library's proxy server is included in the URL.   

The proxyized URL of an article will contain "0-" immediately after the http://, and ".library.law.suffolk.edu" after the domain extension of the URL.  If these characters are not present in the URL that you copy, they can be typed in by hand.

EXAMPLES:

 

Permanent link to article's URL (PURL) generated within EBSCOHOST library database:

      http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.law.suffolk.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=52768095&site=ehost-live

 

Unstable link to article (this link will break if pasted into Blackboard):   

      http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=52768095&site=ehost-live

 

         Layout of a proxy-ized URL (this link will work off campus):

               http://0-{targetURLDomain}.library.law.suffolk.edu/{targetURLRemainder}

 

 

Linking to Articles in Blackboard

This guide provides instructions for the discovery or creation of permanent URLs within various database interfaces.  One popular use of these PURLs is to incorporate them as course readings in Blackboard, or another learning management system.

For instructions on how to add permanent links to a course in Blackboard, please visit the guide Persistent URLs in Blackboardhttp://suffolk.libguides.com/blackboard.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip