Latin American and Caribbean Studies Resource Guide: Library Databases

Academic OneFile from Gale is another general database, covering social sciences, arts, humanities, and science, with full-text and peer-reviewed titles including: Journal of Latin American Studies and Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology.

The largest "scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database" from EBSCO, ASC includes peer-reviewed titles. Coverage generally goes back to about 1980. Full-text titles on Latin America and the Caribbean include: NACLA Report on the Americas, Hemisphere: A Magazine of the Americas, Mexican Studies, and Small Axe: A Caribbean Journal of Criticism.

EBSCO's business database includes titles in management, economics, international business, and finance. Scholarly and business periodical backfiles go back to 1975 or further. Full-text titles include Business Monitor International's Forecast Reports and Latin America Monitors for Andean Group, Southern Cone, Central America, Brazil, Mexico, and the Caribbean, and The Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) Country Reports on Latin American and Caribbean countries.

JSTOR contains full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, many of which date as far back as the 19th century. Coverage generally extends up to, but not including, the most recent three to five years of any given journal. JSTOR has 32 journals specifically relating to Latin American Studies including Hispania, Latin American Literary Review, and Latin American Antiquity. Articles can be limited by language, e.g., Spanish and Portuguese.

MLA International Bibliography is a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), it contains over 2.3 million citations but the only full text links from other databases. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts and additional modern language studies. Includes thousands of Spanish language entries for journals, books, and dissertations.

Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2900 journals, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product, such as British Politics, Ethnopolitics and the Journal of Women, Politics & Policy. PSC is comprehensive and has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Project Muse provides full-text for scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 100 academic or scholarly society publishers. Several titles specifically related to Latin American and Caribbean Studies include Journal of Latin American Geography, Latin American Research Review, and Latin American Politics and Society.