WRI 100 - Professor Robin Mangino: Selected Library Databases by Subject

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) -- 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) -- 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) -- 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) -- 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) -- 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street's Black Thought and Culture

National and regional data from the 18th century to present day. Includes essays to contextualize historical data.

Presents excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world. Each volume includes approximately 70 events with well over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and more. Covers the period 1972-2022.

Contains over 10,000 articles, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Core content includes Black Women in America and African American National Biography.

Multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area of general interest back to the mid-1970's. Contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. Updated daily.

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.

A reference database of political and economic information about 250+ countries and territories.

A database of the questions and responses from over 18,000 surveys, totalling over 750,000 questions, conducted since 1986 by 1000+ organizations in the United States and 100+ other countries.

Primary source materials, periodical articles, reference works, and multimedia. Over 350 topic pages offer organized collections of resources about people, events, civilizations, and ideas from the ancient world to the present.

Indexed full-text biographies and news items covering a wide range of individuals from many fields, gathered from reference sources and periodicals.

Explore the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres; multi-series.

Searchable full text of the Boston Globe. Coverage runs from January 1, 1980 through the present day.

Suffolk University’s libraries have collaborated to provide free access to the New York Times for all Suffolk students, faculty, and staff. Register with your Suffolk email address using the link above. Once registered, you can access the New York Times from any device by logging in at nytimes.com or via the NYT app. Learn more here.

Features thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Westlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news with in depth law-related information.