Adding Works to DC @ Suffolk
Before you begin, please be sure you have the following items:
- A Digital Collections @ Suffolk account (new users can sign up using the My Account link)
- The title of the work
- For previously published works, the name of the publication and the date it was published. If possible review your publisher agreement to see if they will allow the work to be posted.
- The abstract (up to 250 words)
- A few keywords (10 maximum)
- Access to either the electronic file (pdf, Excel) or a hyperlink to the file
Follow these instructions to create a free account on Digital Collections @ Suffolk. This account can be used to upload content and track readership statistics.
1. Go to Digital Collections @ Suffolk (https://dc.suffolk.edu/)
2. Select My Account in the upper right hand corner
3. Select 'Sign Up'
Use your Suffolk email and create a new password of your choice. DC @ Suffolk is not set-up for Suffolk's Single-Sign On program at this time.
4. Fill in information
5. Go to your email and confirm your account
6. Return to Login Screen
The following instructions provide info about how an author can upload their own publications to DC @ Suffolk. This process works best for uploading a small number of publications. If there an author has multiple works to upload, Library staff can do it on their behalf.
Follow these steps:
1. Collect info about the work(s), including:
- Author, title, date, publisher
- Digital files for all works to be uploaded
- Double-check Copyright: check if the publisher allows the work to be published in Suffolk's institutional repository. For help determining whether a work can be posted online, please contact the Digital Collections Team.
2. Create a free account in Digital Collections @ Suffolk (https://dc.suffolk.edu/)
Select My Account in the upper right hand corner
3. Go to the Submit Research page
4. Select the Collection area based on your school or affiliation
5. Read and accept the Author Submission Agreement
6. Fill in the forms, providing information about yourself and any co-authors and your work
7. Upload your electronic file and associated files and click "Submit" .
8. Click "Next" to complete the submission.
9. Final Steps: Library staff will review and approve all eligible items. Author will receive an email notification once the item is posted online.
Please contact the DC administrators if you have any questions or encounter any problems.
Authors with multiple files to upload can request to have the the Library upload content on their behalf. Please follow these steps:
1. Send an email to Digital Collections team at dct@suffolk.edu indicating interest in having works uploaded.
- Previously Published works: Librarians can compile a list of previously published works and help determine which of those can be uploaded per publisher agreements.
- Unpublished works: Authors will need to supply information about the works and copies of the digital files. This types of content could include: working papers, presentations, conference papers, and teaching materials.
2. Collect information about the published and unpublished works to be posted, including,
- author, titles, dates, publisher, copyright information, and the digital files for all works to be uploaded.
- Double-check that the publisher will allow the works to be posted in Suffolk’s repository. For assistance in determining copyright and licensing issues, please consult the Author FAQ page or contact the Digital Collections Team.
3. Submit Works and Sign Submission Form
-
- Fill out this Qualtrics form and sign at the bottom
- If submitting multiple works, please upload a list of all the items that need to be added to DC @ Suffolk and digital copies of each work
4. Once the content has been uploaded by library staff, authors will receive an automated notification from Digital Collections @ Suffolk.
5. As a last step, authors are encouraged to create a free account in Digital Commons @ Suffolk (https://dc.suffolk.edu/) to track their work. This account can be used to track readership statistics and to upload new works (more info about Author Metrics).
Please contact the DC administrators if you have any questions or encounter any problems.
Navigating Copyright Issues
For assistance in determining copyright and licensing issues, please consult the Author FAQ page or contact the Digital Collections Team.
Considerations for Previously Published Works
All contributors must own the copyright for (or have permission to post) work in Digital Collections @ Suffolk. Authors grant Suffolk University a non-exclusive, perpetual right to use and preserve the digital assets for non-commercial use. This license includes permission to convert the submission to other formats and to retain more than one copy of the submission for preservation purposes. Because authors retain the copyright for all content posted in the repository, they are free to reuse the content elsewhere.
For specific terms of the license, please see the Author Submission Agreement. Additionally, for help determining if a work can be posted, please contact the Digital Collections Team.
Preparing a new work for Publication
As authors prepare new works for publication, the library encourages them to negotiate with publishers to retain key rights to their intellectual property, such as distribution and access through institutional repositories. Information about why and how to do this is available at the SPARC (Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition) website: http://www.sparc.arl.org/resources/authors/addendum.
The use of materials is still subject to the terms and conditions noted in the copyright publication agreement or license agreement signed between the author and the publisher. Consult your publishing agreement to see if there are any restrictions, commonly referred to as embargoes.
Digital Collections @ Suffolk offers authors to the opportunity to delay, or embargo, the full publication of their work due to publisher restrictions or other barriers authors may encounter.
No embargo required: By choosing no embargo, you are agreeing to publish your Work in Digital Collections @ Suffolk immediately after submission. This option will provide the broadest possible access to your work. The full-text of your Work and any supplemental files will be accessible on the internet for unlimited viewing. Your Work will be indexed and discoverable via major search engines.
Embargo: By choosing an embargo, you are requesting that there be no access to the full-text of your Work for a specified period of time. Your submission will be listed and indexed in Digital Collections @ Suffolk, but the full text of your Work, and any supplementary files, will not be accessible until the expiration of the embargo. The title, author, keywords, and abstract will be displayed on the web in the record for your Work even if you have restricted access to the full-text copy. If you are embargoing due to patentability concerns, make sure your abstract is written so as to not be considered prior art. If do not want an abstract displayed at all, enter “No abstract to protect patentability” in the abstract field when you upload your Work.
The pre-set embargo periods are: 1 year, 18 months, 2 years, and 3 years.
Author Submission Agreement Text
The following is a preview of the Submission Agreement text that will be visible when uploading content to Digital Collections @ Suffolk using the Submit Research link.
Digital Collections @ Suffolk Author Submission Agreement
If the Submitter is the copyright owner, the Submitter still retains copyright to the deposited work and does not give up the right to submit the Work to publishers or other repositories. If the Submitter is not the copyright owner, the Submitter represents that the copyright owner(s) has given the Submitter permission to deposit the Work in Digital Collections @ Suffolk.
By checking the Submit button, I grant my school or department on behalf of Suffolk University the non-exclusive right to distribute my submission ("the Work"), in perpetuity, over the Internet and make it part of Digital Collections @ Suffolk.
I warrant as follows:
1. I have full authority to grant the rights set forth in this license.
2. This submission does not, to the best of my knowledge, infringe on anyone’s copyright or other intellectual property rights.
3. If the submission does contain material for which I do not hold copyright and that exceeds fair use, I have obtained the unrestricted permission of the copyright owner to grant Digital Collections @ Suffolk the rights required by this license, and that such third-party owned material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission.
4. The Work contains no libelous, defamatory or unlawful material and Submitter agrees to hold the University harmless from any claim, suit or proceeding based on the grounds that The Work contains such material, and agrees to indemnify the University against such claims, including reasonable expenses and attorney’s fees incurred in defending, settling, or otherwise responding to such claims.
5. There are not any restrictions or required publication delays (embargoes) on the distribution of the submission by Digital Collections @ Suffolk administrators unless specified in the appropriate place on the submission form.
6. The information I provided on the submission form is accurate.
7. I understand that the item submitted will not be removed, but may be suppressed from public view by the Libraries for the following reasons: journal publishers’ rules, proven copyright violation, proven plagiarism, or legal requirements.