Congressman Joe Moakley and El Salvador: A Research Guide, Moakley Archive and Institute
Sampling of Books on U.S. Involvement in El Salvador and Central America
-
Crossroads: Congress, the President, and Central America, 1976-1993
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor F1436.8.U6 A76 1993ISBN: 0271010991Publication Date: 1993-10-29Touches on Representative Moakley's contribution to the struggle to improve
the human rights situation in El Salvador. -
Empire's Workshop: Latin America, the United States, and the Rise of the New Imperialism
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor F1418 .G66 2006 c.2ISBN: 0805077383Publication Date: 2006-05-02 -
Joe Moakley's Journey: From South Boston to El Salvador
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 3rd Floor E840.8.M63 S36 2013ISBN: 9781555538071Publication Date: 2013-06-11 -
Our Own Backyard: The United States in Central America, 1977-1992
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor F1436.8.U6 L453 1998ISBN: 0807823953Publication Date: 1998-09-21
U.S. Government Documents Relating to El Salvador
-
National Bipartisan Commission on Central America, "Report of the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America" (1984)Kissinger Commission. Retrieved from the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library.
-
Legislative History of PL102-65, Temporary Protected Status for SalvadoransLibrary Database "Legislative Insight."
Summary:
To amend the Immigration Act of 1990 to extend for 4 months the application deadline for special temporary protected status for Salvadorans.
Amended Acts: Immigration Act of 1990 -
Legislative History of PL101-649: Immigration Act of 1990. November 29, 1990.Library Database "Legislative Insight."
Summary
"To amend the Immigration and Nationality Act to change the level, and preference system for admission, of immigrants to the United States, and to provide for administrative naturalization, and for other purposes. [...] Designates El Salvador as a country whose nationals are eligible for temporary protected status through mid-1992." -
El Salvador: Background and U.S. Relations. Updated January 29, 2024.Congressional Research Service, United States Congress. January 29, 2024
Library Database: "ProQuest Congressional"
Temporary Protected Status
-
Temporary Protected Status (ProQuest Congressional Topic Page)Overview, CRS Reports, Hearings, Laws, Presidential Materials.
Library Database: "ProQuest Congressional" -
Temporary Protected Status and Deferred Enforced Departure.Congressional Research Service, United States Congress. December 05, 2024
Library Database: "ProQuest Congressional"
Legal Information: Laws, Legal Cases, Law Journals, Legislative History, Congressional & Government Documents
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowLegal research platform for legal periodicals, state and federal government documents, international resources, case law, & treaties.
-
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowUse drop down to select SUFFOLK UNIVERSITY for access. Provides legislative histories, the text of bills, public laws, and government publications.
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides congressional publications on all areas of public policy. Includes House and Senate reports and hearings, topic pages covering key concepts and policies, and the nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports,
-
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowFind federal and state statutes and case law, as well as law review articles, and newspaper coverage.
Human Rights in El Salvador
-
Report on Human Rights in El Salvador, January 26, 1982
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor JC599.E4 R4 1982ISBN: 0394711416Publication Date: 1982-03-01
-
El Salvador: Impunity Prevails in Human Rights CasesHuman Rights Watch, News from Americas Watch, September 1, 1990.
-
El Salvador's Decade of Terror
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor JC599.S2 E42 1991ISBN: 0300049390Publication Date: 1991-10-01
-
The United Nations Truth Commission for El SalvadorThomas Buergenthal, "The United Nations Truth Commission for El Salvador," Vanderbilt Journal of Transnational Law 27, no. 3 (October 1994): 497-544.
Library Database: "HeinOnline."