University Archives: 1974 Garrity Decision Research Guide
-
Garrity Decision Research Guide (University Archive)Use this guide for background information about the busing crisis in Boston and lists of primary and secondary research sources available in the Sawyer Library and the Suffolk University Archives & Special Collections.
Primary Source:
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
-
Tallulah MORGAN et al., Plaintiffs, v. James W. HENNIGAN et al., DefendantsText of the 1974 'Garrity Decision,' available at Justia - U.S. Law.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowLegal research platform with state and federal government documents, international resources, and case law. Search for: 379 F. Supp. 410 Tallulah MORGAN et al., Plaintiffs, v. James W. HENNIGAN et al., Defendants. Civ. A. No. 72-911-G. United States District Court, D. Massachusetts. June 21, 1974.
-
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch within Westlaw for Morgan v. Hennigan.
-
The Boston School Decision: The Text of Judge W. Arthur Garrity Jr.'s Decision of June 21, 1974 in its Entirety byCall Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor LB2802.B6 G3 1974Publication Date: 1974Cover title
On cover: "You can only fully understand the depths of Boston's shame by reading this document."
"This decision was reproduced from Volume 379-No. 2 of the Federal Supplement dated October 21, 1974."
"Tullulah Morgan et al., Plaintiffs, v. James W. Hennigan et al., Defendants."
Contemporaneous Newspaper Articles
-
Boston Globe 1872-2007 This link opens in a new window
Updated: Full text and searchable digitized version of the Boston Globe from 1872 through 2007.
-
"Globe Wins Pulitzer Prize for Desegregation Coverage." May, 6, 1975.Boston Globe.The Boston Globe won the 1975 Pulitzer Prize for public service, for its "massive and balanced coverage of the Boston school desegregation crisis."
"Globe Wins Pulitzer Prize for Desegregation Coverage." 1975.Boston Globe (1960-), May 06, 1. https://ezproxysuf.flo.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/globe-wins-pulitzer-prize-desegregation-coverage/docview/747745383/se-2.
-
New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new windowFull text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)
Search for Books in the Suffolk University OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog)
-
The Soiling of Old Glory: The Story of a Photograph that Shocked America
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor F73.9.A1 M38 2008ISBN: 1596913649Publication Date: 2008-04-01 -
Common Ground: A Turbulent Decade in the Lives of Three American Families
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor F73.9.A1 L85 1986 c.2ISBN: 0394746163Publication Date: 1986-08-12 -
Before Busing: A History of Boston's Long Black Freedom Struggle
by
Call Number: Access online via JSTORISBN: 1469662787Publication Date: 2022-11-29
-
Keyword search:
Boston AND busingThe link above performs a Keyword Search in the online catalog to look for books on the busing crisis in Boston. -
Subject search:
Discrimination in education -- Law and legislation -- Massachusetts -- BostonOnce an appropriate item has been found with a Keyword search, follow the Subject Heading(s) displayed in the item record, to gather other items that share the same subject. -
Keyword search:
school integration AND BostonYou may need to vary your search terms. In this example school integration has been substituted for busing.
Scholarly Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports)
-
Busing and the Lower Federal Courts. August 22, 1979.CRS Report: Addresses role of lower Federal courts in student busing; and summarizes issues, cases, and decisions.
Publication Year: 1979. -
Desegregation and the Cities: The Trends and Policy Choices. February 1, 1977.Committee on Human Resources. Senate. Report, prepared by committee consultant Gary Orfield, assessing trends in urban housing and school desegregation. Discusses trends in metropolitan housing and educational segregation; court decisions having an impact on desegregation; trends away from consistent enforcement by HEW and HUD; and varied issues related to school busing. Includes policy recommendations.
-
Transportation as a Remedy in School Desegregation. January 01, 1977.Committee on the Judiciary. Senate. Report prepared by the Subcom on the Constitution containing additional views of Subcom and Full Committee Members James Abourezk (D-SDak), Birch Bayh (D-Ind), John C. Culver (D-Iowa), and Edward M. Kennedy (D-Mass), on S. 1651 (dept rpt, text, p. 21-26), to establish guidelines consistent with the Constitution regarding the circumstances under which courts may order the transportation of students on the basis of race, color, or national origin to remedy discrimination in public schools.
Includes detailed analysis of constitutional rules applicable to busing in connection with school desegregation and a comparison of the rules with each of the bill provisions.
