Useful Databases for ENVS330 Research
The databases you use will be anchored around scientific ones, however, most topics contain interdisciplinary aspects, such as psychology and history etc. Therefore, it is a good idea to familiarize yourself with everything available to you. Take a look around at all we have for you at the Sawyer library:
Mildred F. Sawyer Library - Suffolk University
For purposes of demonstrating the science-friendly databases, I will go to:
Databases....Databases by Subject...then scroll down and select the science portion:
Below, you will find the databases demonstrated in the library session...
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowBecause this is an EBSCO database, you may also add additional EBSCO databases to the search. Broadly, for this class, I would also add: APA PSYCH/ PSYCHINFO, Biological Abstracts, ERIC, Green File, MasterFile Premier, Medline/Medline with full-text, and SocIndex.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
-
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of 1,000+ high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering many disciplines, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of articles from over 2000 journals published by Elsevier.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. In addition to the Core Collection, searchable databases include Current Contents, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, and others.
Peer-Reviewed Resources
Off-Campus Access to Sawyer Library E-Resources
From off-campus, users will be prompted for their Suffolk University username and password. This authenticates the user as part of the Suffolk community.
Questions? Contact the Sawyer Library Reference Desk at:
sawlib@suffolk.edu
Transferable Skills
The following search examples are intended to illustrate common features of the article databases.
The search strategies (combining search terms; limiting to articles from scholarly journals) are applicable to multiple article databases..