Citation Tools Through Suffolk University
-
NoodleBibNoodleBib steps the user through the formating of each citation element (in either MLA or APA style) required to produce a bibliography (works cited list).
-
Endnote This link opens in a new windowCitation management software. Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection. Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues. Use our plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
Mendeley Citation Tool YouTube Demo
-
ResearchGate Article on Mendeley Pros and cons"Mendeley is an online application used for organizing research citation and annotating PDF documents. Mendeley enables arrangement of research articles with capabilities for working with academics, locally and internationally by using Web 2.0 idea for academic study. The present article will focus on characteristics, pros and cons of Mendeley in research. Citation management, internet synchronisation and collaboration, Portable Document Format (PDF) management and annotation, and word processing programme integration are features of Mendeley. This article considers potential effects of social networking tools like Mendeley in academic scholarship application process coming to close proximity" (Article Abstract)
Zotero Citation Tool YouTube Demo
-
Lib Guide: Pros and Cons of Zotero (Also contains information on Mendeley)This is a LibGuide resource from the Illinois Tech Libraries. It provides information on the pros and cons of Zotero as well as Mendeley.
APA Style Help
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: Sawyer Reference Desk BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. -
Concise Guide to APA Style
by
Publication Date: 2019-12-01This guide provides essential writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians working in APA style.
Writing Guidance
There are many citation styles, publication manuals, and handbooks for proper English usage that students and researchers in a wide variety of disciplines use. This guide lists a selection of print manuals and online resources that will help you construct and write a research paper and cite your sources. If the print style manual or grammar guide you are looking for is not listed, please use the Suffolk University Library Catalog to check for it.
The illustration to the right (art by Maira Kalman) is of one of the many editions of The Elements of Style that Sawyer Library owns. This classic handbook of grammar and usage was first created by Cornell University English professor William Strunk in 1918. Later, it was revised by E. B. White (who is best known as the author of the beloved Children's Lit novel, Charlotte's Web).
The original "Strunk" is now available free on the web (but watch out for pop-ups).
We have many editions of the revised "Strunk & White," too.
Just for fun... If you would like to see Ms. Kalman's video homage to Strunk & White, click the below picture to take a look at a YouTube Video:
Purdue OWL: Citing and Annotating Assistance
-
Purdue Owl"We are a globally renowned resource that provides assistance with English to students, teachers, professionals, and organizations across the world. Our goal is to assist clients in their development as writers - no matter their skill level. "(Official Website)
-
Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliography GuideThis is Purdue's landing page that will prove helpful when creating your annotated bibliography. There are wonderful examples and step-by-step assistance.