Finance Resource Guide: Banking

Provides links to district banks of the Federal Reserve System, texts of policy papers and financial and regulatory reports, and articles from the
Federal Reserve Bulletin.

Is valuable for current daily and historical data on foreign exchange rates, interest rates (including those for government investments like T Bills), consumer credit, banks and finance companies, and a variety of other monetary measures.

Provides comprehensive financial information and analysis on the banking industry as well as economic trends. Includes searchable databases of data on specific banks, texts of FDIC policy research on regional and national banking, and data on failed banks.

"A quarterly publication that provides detailed aggregate financial information as well as key structural data for all FDIC-insured institutions." The user can customize reports using five categories- Industry (commercial or savings), Geography (state or national) By (asset, foreign office, insurance fund, or time series), Date (starting in 1992), and Report (assets and liabilities, income and expense, structure tables, or publication).

Provides current rates on CD's, IRA's, loans, and credit card balances, plus news, educational materials, and glossaries.

The Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED II) is a database of over 2,900 U.S. economic time series. A small sample of time series data includes Treasury maturity rates, deposits, consumer credit, government securities, trade data, and bank prime loan rate. Data can be downloaded in Excel and text formats and can be viewed in charts.

The BIS "is an international organization which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks." The website offers full-texts of policy papers, working papers, international financial statistics, and other publications. Includes legal texts, such as the Charter, statutes, and basic agreements. Also provides a list of central bank websites.

"The European Central Bank and the national central banks together constitute the Eurosystem, the central banking system of the euro area. The main objective of the Eurosystem is to maintain price stability: safeguarding the value of the euro." This website provides daily rate exchanges, texts of legal instruments, including treaties, statutes, and policy procedures, and texts of the ECB Monthly Bulletin.

Includes data, such as balance of payments, investment funds, and securities issues. Research papers and occasional papers are available for downloading.

The Bank of Canada sets financial and monetary policy and manages public funds and debt. The websites provides current interest and exchange rates, price indexes and monetary data indicators, and full-text access to speeches and working papers.