Print Statistical Sources
Health, United StatesCall Number: REF. RA407.3 .H43 2007Online access available at the National Center for Health Statistics, 1975 - present.
This report, a good source of minority health statistics, is produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services with data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Center for Health Statistics.
Black Americans : a Statistical SourcebookCall Number: REF. E185.5 .B512 2004ISBN: 10486992Includes data collected on demographics, vital statistics, health, education, elections, public opinion, law enforcement, labor force, and special topics such as Black owned firms and housing affordability.
Portrait of Health in the United StatesCall Number: REF. RA407.3 .P67 2001ISBN: 089059189XThis publication, now somewhat dated, includes health statistics based on race, ethnicity, and gender. This title is also available online in full-text, through ebrary.
U.S. Census Bureau
- Infographic: "MEASURING RACE AND ETHNICITY ACROSS THE DECADES, 1790-2010"From the United States Census Bureau. Discussion of the infographic is posted to the U.S. Census Bureau Blog.
Other U.S. Federal Online Statistical Sources
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey"The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, and persons not in the labor force."
- MEDLINEplus: African American HealthThis site from the National Library of Medicine includes news, research links, statistics, and information specific to age and gender groups. There is also a link that allows a quick search for recent articles (not full-text) in the Medline database. (Current Suffolk University students and faculty also have access to Medline as one of the Sawyer Library's subscription periodical databases.)
Historical Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United StatesISBN: 0521817919This is the online version of the Millennial edition of the Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present. (The 2006 print edition is available as well.) The sections on Population and Work & Welfare have significant portions relevant to African American history, and the section on Governance and International Relations includes information on the Confederate States.
