African American Studies Resource Guide: Primary Sources

Provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries. A product of Ancestry.com.

North America's most complete assembly of original rare maps focusing on early Africa. Contains 5,000 maps, engravings, archive papers, texts, and references from rare books. This collection includes materials written in English, Latin, Dutch, French, German, Portuguese, and Italian. Collection items originate from the years 1480 to 1900.

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) -- 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) -- 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) -- 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) -- 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) -- 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street's Black Thought and Culture

The collections include documentation on the major events of the civil rights era, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Freedom Rides, March on Washington, Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Selma to Montgomery March, and other events spanning the full 20th Century.

Contains over 10,000 articles, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Core content includes Black Women in America and African American National Biography.