American History Resource Guide: Selected Print & Online Resources

REF HA202 .B87 1975
Published by the U.S. Census Bureau, this two-volume set contains data covering population, vital statistics, migration, labor, income, social statistics, agriculture, housing, manufacturing, transportation, communication, energy, and much more. Data is arranged in broad subjects within chapters. An online version of the Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial Edition) is available to Suffolk University students.

Available in an electronic format
REF HA202 .H57 2006 (print)
This is the fourth edition (Millennial Edition) of the Historical Statistics of the United States. This edition was produced by academic organizations, not the U.S. Census Bureau. This five-volume set greatly expands and updates previous editions and is approved by the Census Bureau as the successor to older editions. Includes over 37,000 data series.

Online through Gale Virtual Reference
A comprehensive, multivolume, dictionary of over 6,000 entries, each written by subject scholars. Available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library. Focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period through the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001.

REF. E188 .E63 1990
A quick reference to topics in the history of Colonial and Revolutionary America. Entries are cross referenced and include bibliographies.

Online through EBSCO
A concise, comprehensive overview of the major personalities and pivotal events of the war that redefined the American nation.

REF. E58+ (print)
REF. E169.12 + (print)
American Decades available online through Gale Virtual Reference.
These two sets work together to cover U.S. history from earliest civilizations through the 1990’s. Topics covered include world history, arts, education, government, science, commerce, warfare, and more.

REF. AI3 .B55
Annotated index of letters in the following periodicals: V. 1. Philanthropist, Emancipator, Genius of Universal Emancipation, Abolition Intelligencer, African Observer, and the Liberator, 1817-1845. V. 2. Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights Observer, 1835-1865. V. 3. Friend of Man, Pennsylvania Freemen, Advocate of Freedom, American and Foreign Anti-Slavery Reporter, 1836-1854. V. 4. National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1840-1860. V. 6. National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1861-1871. Each periodical is briefly described, and there is an index of correspondents.

REF. E446 .B5
Guide to the microfilm of over 14,000 documents written by Black men and women abolitionists. Examples include editorials in Black newspapers and letters by Black abolitionists which appeared in White newspapers. A list of the newspapers and periodicals from which the material is derived is also included. Available for use in the Sawyer Library.

REF. PN4882.5 .A35 1998
A bibliography of more than 6500 newspapers and journals, from 1827 to the present, edited and published by African-Americans.

The 2006 edition is available online through Gale Virtual Reference.
REF E185 E54 1996 (print)
About two-thirds of the 2,200 entries are biographies that begin in the seventeenth century and continue through the twentieth. The remaining entries deal with historical eras, legal cases, cultural achievement, and sports.

REF. D510 .U65 1995
A comprehensive survey of issues, people, and technology which directly affected the U.S. during World War I.

REF. F2 .H65 2003
Provides alphabetical entries covering facts, histories, institutions, literature, names, places, topics, and words unique to the New England states

Available online via EBSCO.
REF. E76.2 .E 53 1996
Entries include descriptions of Indian origins, battles, agricultural techniques, information on prominent legal cases, art, and tribal life. Nearly half of the entries are written by tribal leaders.

REF. E77 .H25
Ten of a twenty-volume set, which is a historical summary of the prehistory, history, and culture of Native Americans in North America.

The 2002 edition is available through Gale Virtual Reference.
REF. E176.1 .P918 1996 (print)
A history of the American Presidency through President Clinton.

REF. E176 .D56
An authoritative dictionary of American national biography. (1928-1958)

Second edition available online through Gale Virtual Reference
REF. E176 .G89 2000 (print)
Provides biographical profiles for all U.S. Cabinet members. Each entry includes a bibliography.