Business Law Resource Guide: Legal Information Websites and Metasites

FindLaw is one of the better free legal resources on the web. Owned by Thomson Reuters, this site provides a subject guide to internet legal resources. It offers a lawyer directory searchable by area of law and by state and legal subject guides, links to news, law firms, and legal forms (many are free). Some links to keyword searchable federal case law are provided below:

Available from volume 150 of the U.S. Reports (1893) to the present. Hyperlinks link citations to earlier cases. Supreme Court cases can be searched by party names, citation, and full-text.

Includes state legal resources plus state and federal codes. Provides searchable constitutions, codes, court rules, and state supreme court and appeals decisions. In addition, FindLaw provides access to law reviews and legal news.

This page offers information on incorporation, employment law, finances and taxes, and forms and contracts.

LII provides U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1990 and links to websites with prior Supreme Court cases. In addition, LII includes the U.S. Code, accessible by both popular name and by citation. LII's Wex, is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia, arranged alphabetically by category. Legal terms are explained and often primary source references (state and federal statutes, case law, agency regulations) are linked. Also includes:

Statutes by topic.

A comprehensive index of over 4,000 select websites concerning law and the legal profession worldwide. Attempts to include only quality sites. Links to a large archive of free legal forms (Legal Forms Archive), law school information and rankings, professional associations, firms, and news. Offers the use of LawRunner - a Legal Research Tool, which is an intelligent agent-based front-end interface for Google. LawRunner is divided into a Global I

A web journal that provides legal, library, IT/IS, and marketing professionals with current information on Internet research and technology issues. See searchable Court Rules, Forms and Dockets for links to state and federal rules, forms, and dockets.

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an Open Access repository containing scholarly research in the social sciences and the humanities. Most papers are available for free downloading. Authors and papers are ranked by the number of downloads. Includes accounting, management, economics, and law topics, among others.

Washburn University School of Law (Washlaw) provides an index of sources of legal information available on the web. This site includes a gateway to federal government resources through DocLaw. Washlaw's RefLaw provides a vast number of quality legal reference sites available on the web.