U.S. Politics & Government: Massachusetts, & Other States / Local Information

Provides information about the Mayor's Office, city services, and City Council.

The official Massachusetts website provides a wealth of information on the state government, including links to agencies, the legislature, the courts, and the governor’s office. Some useful links are listed below.

PDF files of proceedings of House of Representatives, extending back to 2001. [Note: these files are not considered to be the official version of the House Journal.]

(Uncorrected proofs of) the proceedings of the Senate and Joint Sessions kept by the Clerk of the Senate.

The MMA represents the 351 cities and towns of Massachusetts, and the municipal officials who run them.

Provides voter registration information, as well as data summaries of election results from 2002 to the present.

"Each bill that becomes law is given a chapter number based on the chronological order in which it was adopted. These chapters are called Session Laws and are compiled on an annual basis. This site provides an unofficial version of the Session Laws from 1997 to the present and is updated regularly."

"General Laws are Session Laws or sections of Session Laws that are permanent in nature and of general application. General Laws are codified according to subject matter in a multi-volume publication entitled the General Laws of Massachusetts. The official version of the General Laws is now published every two years, with cumulative pamphlets released periodically. This site provides an unofficial version of the General Laws, available through the index below or search feature."

The text of Senate and House bills are also posted (daily) and are searchable by key word and bill number.

The NCSL is a bipartisan organization that provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on significant state issues. This website offers the full-text of some research reports, articles, and news.

Site of the National Governors Association of the 50 states. Provides policy positions, best practices, papers, news, staff directories, and more.

"A complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws."

REF JK2495 .S689 2015
Provides contact information, including websites, for state legislatures, lobbyists, officials, local news sources, and more.

The United States Conference of Mayors is the official non-partisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more.