Other Methods
Eigenfactor is a free database which covers the natural and social sciences. Basically, a journal's Eigenfactor score doubles when it doubles in size, thus a very large journal will have high Eigenfactor scores. A journal's Article Influence score is a measure of the average influence of each of its articles over the first five years after publication. Article Influence score measures the average influence, per article, of the papers in a journal. It is comparable to Thomson Scientific's Impact Factor.
The citation data used at Eigenfactor come from Thomson Scientific's Journal Citation Reports (JCR), so this measure is still limited to a particular set of journals. Each journal belongs to only one category, whereas the Thomson’s journals may be found in several categories. JCR now includes both Eigenfactor and Article Influence measures.
From the Advanced Search screen, enter author and title information to obtain cited references. Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, and the general web. At the end of each Google Scholar result is a “Cited by” link, which provides a list of articles and documents that have cited the original document. [Publish or Perish may be used to track an author's impact using Google Scholar. Involves software download.]
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
A free source that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from Elsevier's Scopus database. Ranks journals and compares journal citation among countries.
Web of Science (WoS) Cited References
After conducting a “Cited Reference Search” and selecting the resulting references, “Finish Search” and view retrieved the records of articles that cite the author/reference selected. Clicking on “Analyze Results” allows the user to view rankings of the authors, journals, etc. for your set of results. Also, Search by publication title and retrieve total number of citations for a given set of years, average citations per year, plus the number of citations per article for the years selected.
