Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Research Tutorial: Archival Collections at Suffolk University

Learn how to effectively conduct archival research and use primary sources in your research projects.

Visiting the Archive

The Moakley Archive and Institute is open to the Suffolk community and the general public. Although most collections are fully open for research; portions of collections may have access or use restrictions based on condition, donor stipulations, University policy, copyright status, or because the collection is not fully cataloged.

Before you visit:

The Archive is open Monday through Friday, 9:00am - 4:30pm.

Moakley Archive and Institute Resources

Explore Suffolk University’s research collections to learn more about university history, the life and career of Congressman Joe Moakley (JD ‘56), as well as topics including school desegregation in Boston, El Salvador’s Civil War, and women in the French Resistance. Search across all collection materials using the Archives catalog or browse our Digital Collections site.

Collections include:

Suffolk University Archives: includes business records, photographs, audio and video recordings, memorabilia and other materials that document the unique history of Suffolk University. More

Special Collections: includes research collections of notable faculty, staff and alumni

Digital Collections: Browse 2500+ digitized items from the University Archives and Special Collections

Contact the Moakley Archive

Main Phone: (617) 305-6277

E-Mail: archives@suffolk.edu

Web Site: http://www.suffolk.edu/moakley

Digital Collections: https://moakleyarchive.omeka.net/

Hours: Available remotely M-F, 9-4:30. In-person research visits available by appointment. 

Resources for Faculty

The Moakley Archive collaborates with faculty to integrate archives, oral histories and other primary sources into the classroom.

Learn more about the resources available to faculty, including: