Skip to main content

Archival Research Tutorial: Overview

Learn how to effectively conduct archival research and use primary sources in your research projects.

Ram Book Tree

We're located in the Sawyer Library Commons. You know you've found us when you see the Ram Book Tree!

Overview

Welcome to Suffolk University's Archival Research Guide. This guide covers the following: how to distinguish between primary and secondary sources, effective search tips, and how to successfully use primary sources in papers and assignments. Additionally, learn about the unique research collections held by the Moakley Archive and Institute

Tutorial Sections

  1. What is an Archive?
  2. Getting Started with Archival Research
  3. Archival Collections at Suffolk University
  4. Using Digital Archives
  5. Citing Archival Sources

Moakley Archive and Institute Collections

The Moakley Archive and Institute is home to Suffolk University’s institutional archives and special collections. Use the research collections to explore the following topics:

  • Congressman John Joseph Moakley
  • United States Congress
  • Women in the French Resistance
  • Eugene O’Neill
  • Early history of radio
  • El Salvador’s civil war
  • History of Suffolk University
  • Ford Hall Forum
  • School Integration

Contact the Moakley Archive

Main Phone: (617) 305-6277

E-Mail: archives@suffolk.edu

Location:
Moakley Archive and Institute
Suffolk University
73 Tremont Street, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02128

Web Site: http://www.suffolk.edu/moakley

Hours: M-F, 9-4:30

See also...