Industry Ratios:
Print Sources
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)Call Number: REF Desk HF 5681 .R25 I525D&B covers the widest range of industries, "over 800 lines of business," as defined by SIC code. Includes "typical" balance sheet and income statements with "common-size" financial figures, as well as 14 performance ratios.
- RMA Annual Statement Studies (Robert Morris)Call Number: REF Desk HF 5681 .B2 R6The print publication provides "common-size" balance sheets and income statements, and 16 financial and operating ratios, for over 500 lines of business, by company size groups. It is organized by SIC code.
- (Troy's) Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial RatiosCall Number: REF Desk HF5681 .R25 T861The Troy's Almanac is organized by the NAICS System. An appendix provides a translation between the NAICS and SIC codes. 192 industries are covered. Performance averages are broken down by 12 categories based on asset size. Each industry is described by fifty performance indicators, which are based on tax returns.
- Value LineCall Number: REF Desk HG4501 .V26Value Line Survey Issues provide a one page Industry Commentary of each industry covered by Value Line. These commentaries frequently include a chart of retrospective and estimated composite statistics, such as the Average Annual P/E Ratio.
Industry Ratios: Online Sources
- D&B Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)This online product is rooted in the print publication, Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (see below). D&B covers the widest range of industries, "over 800 lines of business," as defined by SIC code. Includes "typical" balance sheet and income statements with "common-size" financial figures, as well as 14 performance ratios, grouped by performance—solvency, efficiency, and profitability. There is also a worksheet to enable users to calculate ratios using existing financial information
The purpose of calculating industry ratios is to evaluate your chosen company's strengths and weaknesses as compared to those of competing businesses in that industry. The ratios, or averages, are arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), or North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. The Sawyer Library subscribes to several resources which provide these ratios, some are electronic, and some are in print.
- D&B Key Business Ratios Archive (1979 – 2010)The Key Business Ratios (KBR) archive contains industry benchmarks relating to Solvency, Efficiency, and Profitability Ratios, dating back over thirty years.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Industry SurveysAlthough Standard and Poor's does not provide industry averages, the Comparative Company Analysis section of each survey does provide profit-, balance sheet-, and equity ratios for specific companies, which can be downloaded into Excel. From the top banner Industries tab: Choose the Excel File Icon for "Downloadable Company Data" to capture this data.
- Business Insights This link opens in a new windowWhen looking at a company profile, choose Financials from the right hand menu, and then choose the Ratios tab. There are options to compare that company to major competitors, or to compare to specifically chosen companies.
- Value Line Research CenterIn addition to specific company and stock information, Value Line Survey Issues provide a one page Industry Commentary of each industry covered by Value Line. These commentaries frequently include a chart of retrospective and estimated composite statistics, such as the Average Annual P/E Ratio. Please log out when done (under 'My Value Line). Value Line is also available in print (see below).
