This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Tools in Sawyer Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Tools in Sawyer Library Databases  

How to Create Formatted Citations Using Database Tools in Our Online Resources
Last Updated: May 29, 2015 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/DatabaseCites Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eJournal Locator

 

Search the Online Catalog


 

How to Find and Create Citations in Sawyer Library Databases

This guide will help students and faculty locate and utilize the citation tools and features available in some of our databases that allow you to build a citation in a particular format.  After making use of these tools, you can oftentimes copy and paste a complete citation (in APA, MLA or other format) directly into Notepad or your preferred wordprocessing software.

Click on a tab above to see instructions specific to a particular vendor platform.

Sawyer Library also has two online resources (listed under "databases") that actually help students build and store their bibliographies.  Both are described in our separate Citation, Style Manual, and Grammar Resource Guide, along with general websites and reference print resources that help with citation tasks. NoodleBib is a basic tool that leads the user through building citations and then allows you to store them. RefWorks is a more complex, (and challenging to use) resource, that allows users to export references from many databases and then format them, organize them, store them, and share them. Since RefWorks has a steeper learning curve, it is not advised that students try to use it for the first time right before a paper is due. To learn more about using RefWorks, please see this excellent guide.

Although many databases have an export function for citation information, not all have an actual citation-builder tool.  JSTOR is an example of one of these databases. The "Other Databases like JSTOR" tab illustrates how to get the citation information you need from any academic database.

CAUTION:  If a database uses a computer algorithm to devise a citation for you, that's a wonderful time-saver.  However, whether you are using a citation-builder tool from these databases or a citation manager like RefWorks or Zotero, be aware that computer tools DO GET THINGS WRONG SOMETIMES.  So, always compare your citations to the citation style guide that your professor wants you to use. You are responsible for the accuracy of the references at the end of your paper.

Quick Contact Info

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Sawyer Library Reference Desk
617-573-8532
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip