ABC-CLIO eBooks
(formerly Greenwood)
This digital collection from the publisher ABC-CLIO (formerly Greenwood Press) includes a category for Popular Culture. Sample titles include:
The Automobile in American History and CulturePublication Date: 2001- Fashion and Costume in American Popular CulturePublication Date: 1996
See also...
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
- Popular Culture: Introductory perspectives by Publication Date: 2019
- Reading Pop Culture by Publication Date: 2016
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Call Number: REF E169.1 .J3 2013ISBN: 9781558628472In addition to the expected brief essays on television shows and hollywood personalities, there are also entries for the Chrysler Building (New York) and Dunkin' Donuts.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersPublication Date: 2000
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online collection of encyclopedias. Titles include:
- Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in AmericaPublication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureCall Number: REF GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805685Publication Date: 2003
American Decades: Primary SourcesISBN: 0787665878Publication Date: 2004Each volume covers one decade, 1900-1999.
Additional Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia BritannicaA good source of background information, the online version of the complete Encyclopedia Britannica includes brief essays on cultural movements and notable personalities.
- Biography In ContextThe Biography Resource Center combines over "400,000 biographies from more than 130 respected Gale sources..." Contributing sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Contemporary Black Biography, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
