It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nexis Uni contains the full-text of hundreds of domestic and international newspapers (from the 1980's onward), including The New York Times (1980 -), and The Chicago Sun Times (1992 -). To locate film reviews, in the sidebar go to "News," then "All News," select "U.S. Newspapers & Wires" as the source, and "Movie Reviews" as the article type.
Project Muse contains more than 300 full-text scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies. In addition to history, literature, and sociology, Project Muse also has the category of 'Film, Theater, and Performing Arts.'
JSTOR is a collection of older, full-text, scholarly journals. For some journals, the coverage extends back over 100 years. Scholarly articles on topics related to film and/or popular culture can be found in journals from several sections, including: sociology, language & literature, history, African American studies, and Latin American studies.
The Wiley Online Library offers the full-text of journals published by Wiley and what was formerly Blackwell publishing. Most notably it contains the full-text of The Journal of Popular Culture beginning with volume 1, issue 1, from the Summer of 1967. Users may also browse the journal titles listed in the Communication and Cultural Studies category.
Despite this database's name, there is significant coverage of film criticism and history. Two journals covered here that are not available elsewhere, include Film Studies and American Cinematographer.
This full-text database of The New York Times (1851 - 2009) consists of scanned images of the actual paper. In addition to searches for articles, users can also search for advertisements, editorial cartoons, obituaries (a good source of biographical information), and reviews.
ASC and Business Source Complete (from EBSCO) cover topics in the social sciences and business, respectively. Both are good starting points for searching for film reviews or articles on trends and well known personalities in politics, business, and culture.