Skip to main content

Online Entertainment Guide: E-Books and Newspapers

Helping our community discover streaming video, ebooks, and news resources offered by the Sawyer Library and other cultural heritage organizations.

E-Books and Newspapers

Finding Entertaining Content at Sawyer Library

Need a break? Use this guide to peruse some "just for fun" content ranging from e-books, streaming video, cooking tutorials and genealogy resources. Some of the highlighted content has been made temporarily available due to the Covid-19 crisis so it might not be free forever. If you are looking for assistance finding resources and services related to your academic work, please consult the Library's Continuity of Learning Services guide.

Find an Item at Your Local Library

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Contact Sawyer Library

Sawyer Library Reference's picture
Sawyer Library Reference
Contact:
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
73 Tremont St
Boston, MA
02108
(617) 573-8532
Website

Discover Sawyer Library's E-books

The library is continually adding e-book content. Please search the library catalog or use one of following databases to access e-books:

Boston Public Library's Online Content

Take advantage of the Boston Public Library's vast collection of electronic resources, including e-books, magazines, and audiobooks, and streaming video. Use your BPL library card or sign up for an eCard here. BPL eCards are available to anyone who lives, resides part-time to attend school, owns property, or works in Massachusetts.

News Databases

Free Access to New York Times

Suffolk students, faculty, and staff can now have free access to the New York Times daily newspaper on computers, smartphones or tablets. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.)  All you need is your @suffolk.edu email address and a network login and password to register. Additional instructions for registering, special features, and account troubleshooting are available here: NYT Library Guide

Sawyer Library Twitter Feed

Streaming Video and Games

Streaming Film & Movie Databases

Archives and Genealogy Resources

Explore History

Use the following online resources to learn more about Suffolk's history, research your family history, or learn more about your community.

Preserve Your Pandemic Story

The Moakley Archive Needs You! 

Submit a photograph, journal entry, artwork, or other content that represents your pandemic experience to the Journal of A Plague Year Digital Archive.

Use this guide to learn more about the Archive and for submission ideas. 

Moakley Archive Digital Collections

Suffolk's digital archive hosts more than 3000 photographs, interviews, and documents.

Research your Family Tree

Take advantage of the resources below to learn more about your family's history! Some of the types of records you can access online include:  

  • Military Recordsundefined
  • Census Records
  • Passenger and Crew Lists 
  • Naturalization Records
  • Local History: yearbooks, photographs of people and places, family papers

New to genealogical research? Explore some of these tutorials: 

Use the following databases and genealogy platforms to gather documents and information about your ancestors. They include a a mix of free resources and Suffolk-based library subscriptions which may require your Suffolk email address and password.

Browse Images from the Moakley Archive

Beanie worn by freshmen in 1956

Matryoshka nesting dolls depicting Russian leaders Mikhail Gorbachev, Leonid Brezhnev, Nikita Khrushchev, Joseph Stalin, and Vladimir Lenin.

Allan Rohan Crite donating a print of his work, "Summer Madonna", to the Sawyer Library, 1979

Front cover of Beacon yearbook from 2001

Law School glass plate sign, 1910

Architect's rendering of the Friedman Marine Biolo

Architect's rendering of the Friedman Marine Biolo

Framed print presented to Congressman Moakley when

Framed print presented to Congressman Moakley when he received the Lena Park Hetch- Shaw Award from the Lena Park . It's inscribed with "For your twenty years of outstanding service to the United States Congress and the consistency of your representation

Exterior of South Station in Boston, Mass., 1998

Student checking out book from Pallot Library in 1

checking out a book in the Pallot Library, 1963

Suffolk University Law School Senior Banquet

Suffolk University Law School Senior Banquet at the Boston City Club, 1920

Postcard featuring a view of Boston's Theatre Dist

Postcard featuring a view of Boston's Theatre District, undated

Suffolk University golf player Andy Campbell, 1978

Suffolk University golf player Andy Campbell, 1978

Members of Suffolk University's Delta Sigma Pi Cha

Members of Suffolk University's Delta Sigma Pi Chapter, 1961

1961 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1968-1969 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1968-1969 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1961 Suffolk University cheerleading team

Marian Archer MacDonald, 1937

Marian Archer MacDonald, Suffolk's first female graduate, 1937

Construction employees and President Gleason L. Archer on construction site of new Suffolk University Library, 1937

Buffalo Bob Smith of Howdy Doody performs at Suffolk University's C. Walsh Theatre, 1970

The followers of Krishna, the ancient Hindu god of nature and fertility, explain their religion to an audience at Suffolk University's C. Walsh Theatre, 1971

Suffolk University Public Affairs Director Louis B. Connelly with Boston Celtics player Larry Bird (right) and Joe Walsh, 1982

"Reference microcomputers" area of the Sawyer Library, 1988