Online Entertainment Guide: Archives and Genealogy Resources

Looking for a new book for pleasure reading? The Sawyer Library is continually adding non-fiction and fiction titles to the print and e-book collections. Search popular titles in the library catalog, browse the Leisure Reading Collection list, or use one of following databases to access e-books:

Take advantage of the Boston Public Library's vast collection of electronic resources, including e-books, magazines, and audiobooks, and streaming video. Use your BPL library card or sign up for an eCard. BPL eCards are available to anyone who lives, resides part-time to attend school, owns property, or works in Massachusetts.

Suffolk students, faculty, and staff can now have free access to the New York Times daily newspaper on computers, smartphones or tablets. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.)  All you need is your @suffolk.edu email address and a network login and password to register. Additional instructions for registering, special features, and account troubleshooting are available here: NYT Library Guide. 

Suffolk students, faculty, and staff can access the Chronicle of Higher Ed online while off campus. All you need is your @suffolk.edu email address and University login information to register.

Illustrated guide to signing up for the Chronicle:

Take up a new hobby or reacquaint yourself with an old one.

The Moakley Archive Needs You! 

Submit a photograph, journal entry, artwork, or other content that represents your pandemic experience to the Journal of A Plague Year Digital Archive.

Suffolk's digital archive hosts more than 3000 photographs, interviews, and documents.

Take advantage of the resources below to learn more about your family's history! Some of the types of records you can access online include:  

• Military Records
• Census Records
• Passenger and Crew Lists 
• Naturalization Records
• Local History: yearbooks, photographs of people and places, family papers

New to genealogical research? Explore some of these tutorials: 

• Digital Public Library of America's Family Research Guide 
• African American Genealogy Resource Guide
• Boston Public Library's Genealogy Research Guide

Use the following databases and genealogy platforms to gather documents and information about your ancestors. They include a a mix of free resources and Suffolk-based library subscriptions which may require your Suffolk email address and password.