Accessing Full-Text and Tools
Once you click into an article details page, you find tools to email, cite, and grab persistent links on the right side of the page.
1. You can find a full-text link in the left bar to access the actual content.
- The link may say "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" or "Link to Full Text" or "Get Full Text" or "Link to Record at...". These are all access to full-text links.
- If the link says "Request this item through Interlibrary Loan", you can request that we reach out to an international network of libraries and ask if they will share the content with you, via this service. Follow the account confirmation instructions, and if you have any questions email a librarian.
- If there is no link, then email the library at sawlib@suffolk.edu to find out more about tracking down articles.
2. This "E-mail" function pops up a form; see the "Emailing Results" box for more details.
3. The "Cite" function displays computer-generated citations for multiple citation styles, however ACS is unfortunately not an option.
- AMA 11th Edition seems close, but it is not exactly the same as ACS citation style.
- Also, there can be errors in citation formatting. Use this feature with caution, and always double check your computer generated citations against an authoritative style guide.
- See the "ACS Citation Style" page of this guide for links to ACS citation resources and description of some common ACS styles.
4. The "Permalink" option is a quick way to grab the link for this article information page. The permalink does not link directly to the full text.
Emailing Results
1. Enter your Suffolk University email address here.
2. This email form also allows you to include a computer generated citation.
3. Click "Send", and the database will send you a link back to this record, as well as the full text article when possible.
