Harry Hom Dow Papers (MS 111), 1911-1985: A Finding Aid and Online Exhibit, Moakley Archive and Institute
-
Harry Hom Dow: A Chinese-American TrailblazerThis digital exhibit, from the Moakley Archive and Institute, presents Harry Hom Dow’s story and a selection of documents from his archival collection to tell the story of Chinese immigration to the U.S. in the 1950s.
Suffolk Law Alumni Magazine, Fall 2008
-
“A Singular Career, A Shared Ethos:” Harry Hom Dow JD ’29Suffolk Law Alumni Magazine, Fall 2008, “A Singular Career, A Shared Ethos,” by
Thomas Gearty and Meaghan Agnew, p. 16.
Sample of Books on the History of Immigration and Chinese Exclusion
-
At America's Gates: Chinese Immigration during the Exclusion Era, 1882-1943
by
Call Number: LAW TREATISES & Moakley Archives E184.C5 L523 2003 Moakley ArchivesISBN: 0807827754Publication Date: 2003-05-19 -
One Mighty and Irresistible Tide
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 4th Floor JV6455 .Y34 2021ISBN: 0393867528Publication Date: 2021-05-25 -
Paper Families: Identity, Immigration Administration, and Chinese Exclusion
by
Call Number: LAW TREATISES & Moakley Archives E184.C5 L38 2006 Moakley ArchivesISBN: 0822337479Publication Date: 2007-04-04 -
Sons of the Yellow Emperor: A History of the Chinese Diaspora
by
Call Number: Sawyer Library 3rd Floor DS732 .P36 1994ISBN: 1568360320Publication Date: 1994-06-15
Archival Newspapers: Contemporaneous News Coverage
-
Boston Globe 1872-2007 This link opens in a new window
Updated: Full text and searchable digitized version of the Boston Globe from 1872 through 2007.
-
Boston Globe 1980-present This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of the Boston Globe. Coverage runs from January 1, 1980 through the present day.
-
New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new windowFull text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)
-
Wall Street Journal 1889-2004 This link opens in a new windowFull text and searchable digitized version of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 through 2004.
Database 'Legislative Insight:' "Un-American Activities"
-
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowUse drop down to select SUFFOLK UNIVERSITY for access.
Covers the development and history of laws, historical influences on the creation of legislation, and searching for bills, public laws & resolutions, statutes at large and publications
-
Legislative History of PL81-831: Internal Security Act of 1950Summary:
To protect the United States against certain un-American and subversive activities by requiring registration of Communist organizations, and for other purposes.
Amended Acts:
Foreign Agents Registration Act of 1938
Nationality Act of 1940
Immigration Act of 1917
Alien Registration Act of 1940
Cited Acts:
Title I is cited as Subversive Activities Control Act of 1950
Title II is cited as Emergency Detention Act of 1950 -
Legislative History of PL83-637: Communist Control Act of 1954. Aug. 24, 1954. Congress Session: 83-2.Summary:
To outlaw the Communist Party, to prohibit members of Communist organizations from serving in certain representative capacities, and for other purposes.
Amended Acts:
Subversive Activities Control Act of 1950
Subjects:Censorship; Communism and communist parties; Communist Party, U.S.A.; Congressional investigations; Department of Justice; Government and business; National Labor Relations Board; Subversive activities
HeinOnline : Records of the Actions by the House Un-American Activities Committee
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowPremier legal research platform with more than 205 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential state and federal government documents, international resources, case law, treaties, and more.
-
Legislative recommendations by House Committee on Un-American Activities subsequent action taken by Congress or Executive agencies, research study.(1958). Legislative recommendations by House Committee on Un-American Activities subsequent action taken by Congress or Executive agencies, research study. Committee on Un-American Activities, House of Representatives, Eighty-fifth Congress, second session. . Washington, D.C., U.S. G.P.O.
-
Who are they? Prepared at the request of the Committee on Un-American Actvities"Who are They," Who are they? Prepared at the request of the Committee on Un-American Actvities. Part 2 (1957): I-ii
Legislative Insight: Chinese Exclusion Acts
-
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowUse drop down to select SUFFOLK UNIVERSITY for access. Covers the development and history of legislation.
-
Legislative History: Chinese Exclusion Act, May 6, 1882Public Law: 22 Stat. 58, Chap. 126 22 Stat. 58, Chap. 126.
Summary:
To execute certain treaty stipulations relating to Chinese. -
Legislative History of: PL78-199, Chinese Exclusion Repeal Act, Dec. 17, 1943Summary:
To repeal the Chinese Exclusion Acts , to establish quotas, and for other purposes.
Amended Acts:
Newlands Resolution
McCreary Act (Chinese Exclusion)
Nationality Act of 1940
Geary Act (Chinese Exclusion)
Hawaiian Organic Act
ProQuest Congressional: Government Documents Relating to Discrimination in Immigration Laws
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes the text of Congressional hearings, topic pages covering key concepts and policies, the full text of many House and Senate documents, Bills, nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and Executive Orders.
-
"The Immigration and Naturalization Systems of the United States." 1950Senate Report:
Title: The immigration and naturalization systems of the United States.
Date: April 20, 1950
Author: Patrick Anthony McCarran, Democratic Party Senator from Nevada
Committee: Committee on the Judiciary. Senate
Length: 985p -
Topic Overview: Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952Overview and links to background reports, hearings, public laws, and executive orders. The Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) of 1952, (a.k.a. the McCarran-Walter Act), was passed over President Truman’s veto. It reflects Cold War fears of Communist subversion, and was designed to "specifically disadvantaged immigrants from Asia and Southern and Eastern Europe."
Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965
-
President Lyndon B. Johnson & the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965, also known as the Hart-Celler Act, on Oct. 3, 1965, at the base of the Statue of Liberty.
Permanent Legal Immigration to the United States: Policy Overview, November 04, 2024.
-
Permanent Legal Immigration to the United States: Policy OverviewReport by the Congressional Research Service, United States Congress, November 04, 2024.