Education Resource Guide: Disability

OSEP is dedicated to improving the education of infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities. The website includes full-text publications and reports, policy guidelines, state and national funding data, and state and federal contact information.

The Regional Resource Centers are made up of the six Regional Resource Centers for Special Education (RRC) and the Federal Resource Center (FRC). These organizations "are funded by the federal Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP).” The website includes conference information, publications, links to federal agencies, and legislation, and technical assistance. Subjects covered include IEPs, IDEA, assessment, early childhood outcomes, behavior, and state performance.

AHEAD is a professional organization for those involved in policy and in the provision of services to persons with disabilities involved in higher education. The site includes full-text reports, articles, and best practices. Links to texts of relevant cases and legislation.

The CEC "is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted." The website includes discussion of current special education topics, training information, and some full-text articles. Includes codes of ethics and professional standards, information on workshops, public policy updates, and news.

This website provides up-to-date information about special education law and advocacy for children with disabilities. Includes full-text of pertinent cases, statutes, regulations, and articles. Topics covered include Assessments, ADD/ADHD, Discrimination, IDEA, IEP's, Mediation, Section 504, and more.

The U.S. Department of Education's guide to IDEA. Includes policies for IEPs (Individual Education Plans), Highly Qualified Teachers, funding, statewide assessments, early intervention services, private schools, and more.

Created and maintained by Jim Lubin, this site provides links to disability resources on the internet. Includes products, services, and governmental resources.

LD Online is a service of the Learning Project at WETA, the PBS station in Washington, D.C. Includes teaching materials and research updates, glossaries, legal and legislative materials, assessment information, federal and state organization links, publications for purchase, news, and more.