Criminal Justice Resource Guide: Selected Print & Online Resources

The Uniform Crime Reports (FBI) are also available online

REF HV6787 .A3 (older print editions)
FBI publication which illustrates a “nationwide view of crime, based on statistics contributed by state and local law enforcement agencies.” Annual.

Recent edition of the Sourcebook is online.

REF HV7245 .N37B 2003
Compiled by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, the Sourcebook is an annual compilation of statistical data on all aspects of criminal justice.

Online through GVRL

REF HV6017 .E52 2002 (print)
Contains more than 250 scholarly articles covering criminal behavior, criminal law, criminal procedure, punishment, prevention, and criminal justice systems. Includes foreign criminal justice issues. Each article provides a bibliography.

Online 2nd ed. 2013
REF HV6768 .E63 2005 (print)
Provides information about a variety of white-collar crimes, including persons, statutes, companies, and convictions. Articles are written by academics and include bibliographies.

Online through Sage eReference

The two volumes provide an encyclopedic analysis of prisons and correctional facilities. Information included in this collection is arranged into 12 distinct, yet overlapping, themes.

REF HV6017 .E53 2001
Covers criminology and deviant behavior under four broad categories - historical; conceptual and theoretical issues; crime and juvenile delinquency; sexual deviance; and self destructive behavior and identity. Over 500 entries, covering such topics as domestic violence, capital punishment, and critical criminology.

Online through Sage eReference

This comprehensive encyclopedia contains material on killing and other violent behavior, as well as detailed information on a host of criminal cases from local decisions to Supreme Court rulings.

Online through Sage eReference

REF. HV9104 .E58 2003 (print)
This work examines the current state of juvenile justice, covering topics, such as sexual abuse, gangs, missing children, school violence, computer and internet crime, and more. Bibliographies are provided with each entry.

Online through Sage eReference

Comprehensive coverage of theories, correction law, crimes, methods, and statistics.

Online through Gal Virtual Reference

Covers various organizations that have taken stands on gun control. Profiles of many individuals, both inside and outside government, who have promoted or opposed gun control. Discuss various laws and judicial decisions at both the national and state levels. Includes events, such as the 1999 Littleton, Colorado, school shooting, the 2007 Virginia Tech University shooting, and the 2011 Tucson shooting.

REF. HV6025 .O87 2002
Comprehensive chapters cover topics, such as theory, crime control, forms of crime, reactions to crime, and more. Provides extensive bibliographies. Available online through SOCINDEX

REF HV7411 .C48 2005
Includes term definitions, major case summaries, and criminal justice contact information.

Online through Sage eReference

Includes the contributions of leading researchers who provide summaries and unique perspectives on current theory, research, and practice relating to workplace violence.

REF HV7901 .W64 2006
Two-volume set containing 193 entries. Each entry includes a profile of given country's police system, including organization, functions, projects, terrorism, and international cooperation.

2011 edition available through Gale Virtual Reference

.
REF KF4747.5 .C37 2000 (print)
Defines over 240 terms in the field of human rights within the U.S. context. Additional readings and primary sources are listed with each entry. Includes a section with 59 human rights legal documents that relate to the U.S. Many are U.N. documents.

REF HV6431 .A537 2009
Provides comprehensive definitions of terror-related terms. Covers basic concepts, theory, history, and persons. Includes an extensive bibliography.

REF KF9219 .L38 2010
Part of West’s Hornbook series, this volume concentrates on the study of substantive criminal law for the law student. It is a comprehensive guide to basic rules, principles, and issues related to criminal law.

REF KF9219.3 .L63 2009
This title provides a comprehensive but succinct survey of substantive criminal law for the law student.

REF HV7936 .B76 2001
Provides annual trends from 1976 to 1998. Data is includes total numbers, rates, and demographic characteristics. The Bureau of Justice Statistics provides an online edition of Policing and Homicide, 1976-98: Justifiable Homicide of Felons by Police and Murder of Police by Felons.

REF HV7245 .C74 1995
Bureau of Justice Statistics survey report that provides detailed data on major, national victimization. Statistical data, covering 1995 to 2007,

Criminal Victimization in the United States -- Statistical Tables, are available online.

REF KF 9728 .B733 2010
This title covers the basics of sentencing, pleas, community sanctions, parole, prisoners' rights, and remedies.

Online through Sage eReference

Provides a ready source of authoritative knowledge on a range of key issues and topics central to contemporary criminology.

REF KF9350 .Z9 P63 2009
This title provides a general overview of white collar crime law for the law student. Specific cases, crimes, and procedures in the federal criminal context are selected as examples for study.

REF HV7245 .B87 B85
Provides summaries of research, reports, and data compiled by the Bureau of Justice Statistics. Monthly.

REF. HV8073 .F585
Volume I provides discussion of material necessary to understand and apply scientific tests to physical evidence. Volume II covers subjects "essential to the practice of criminalistics." Volume III covers the chemistry of DNA.