Mythology and Folklore Resource Guide: Library Databases

To access the Mildred F. Sawyer Library databases, enter the Library Home Page, and select Find Databases. Choose a database. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter you name and Suffolk ID number before proceeding to the database.

To locate a specific online journal, type the journal title in the eJourals tab.

Academic Search Complete A full-text database with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. Covers all academic subjects.

Academic OneFile This is a major source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It provides extensive coverage in all academic subjects, including history, mythology, and folklore.

JSTOR Contains back runs of over 300 scholarly publications in various academic fields. Search by category or within a particular journal.

Project Muse Provides full-text scholarly journals of the Johns Hopkins University Press and its publishing partners. Journal categories include classics, culture and society, and art.

Oxford Journals Online Provides online access to most Oxford journals. Includes historical, ethnic, and religious journals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This database includes searchable encyclopedias, such as Arts and Humanities Through the Eras and Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture.

Cambridge Companion Online There is one main collection, The Complete Cambridge Companions, and two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Titles include The Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy , The Cambridge Companion to Bertrand Russell , The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy , and others.

ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of over 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Includes coverage of images pertaining to mythology.

Wiley Online Library Although the emphasis is on science journals, this database includes a social science and humanities collection, which offer some journals that cover folklore and mythology topics. All articles are available in PDF format.

Encyclopedia Britannica Provides a searchable Britannica plus related websites.