Boston History Resource Guide: Societies and Organizations

"The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is an independent research library founded in 1812 in Worcester, Massachusetts. The collections document the life of America's people from the colonial era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Collections include books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, broadsides, manuscripts, music, graphic arts, and local histories." Includes a searchable online catalogue and publications for purchase. Houses extensive resources on Boston and New England.

The BLC serves in conjunction with the local Historic District Commissions as the City’s stewards of Boston’s historic buildings, places, and neighborhoods. The City’s preservation commissions provide information and assistance with the regulatory process, preservation planning, archaeology, historical information, and technical help.

"A non-profit preservation organization founded in 1978, the Boston Preservation Alliance provides advocacy, leadership, and education to preserve Boston’s historic places." The organization provides education, technical assistance, and public policy initiatives affecting Boston's historic buildings, neighborhoods, and landscapes.

Historic Boston Incorporated (HBI) is a private, non-profit organization that joins people and resources in order to preserve historic sites in Boston. Projects have included the Hurd House in Charlestown, the Edward Everett Hale House in Roxbury, and the Old Corner Book Store Building in downtown Boston. See Local History Links for viewing specific sites.

The Massachusetts Historical Society (MHS) is a research library and manuscript repository, holding millions of documents and artifacts significant to the study of American history. The institution consists of six departments—Library, Publication & Research Programs, The Adams Papers, The New England Quarterly, Education, and Administration. The Society's website includes a searchable online cataloge, manuscript and photograph finding aids, research guides, and biographical sketches.

See a description of the Battle of Bunker Hill here.