Boston History Resource Guide: Library Databases

Provides access to 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals, as well as newspapers, reference works, podcasts, and video content.

A full-text database with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. Covers all academic subjects, including history.

Includes The Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations, The Cambridge Economic History of the United States, and The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of America.

A highly selective, multidisciplinary collection of over 1500 academic journals. The Sawyer Library has enhanced this collection with additional subscriptions in the life sciences, business studies, and Irish studies.

Provides online access to most Oxford journals. Includes well over a dozen historical journals.

Provides full-text scholarly journals of the Johns Hopkins University Press and its publishing partners. Journal categories include economics, history, literature, and philosophy.

This database offers U.S. History primary and secondary sources, including encyclopedias and monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, and news

Features over 7,500 historical American periodicals from the 17th through the late 19th century.
Series 1 includes titles dating from 1691 through 1820; Series 2 coers titles dating from 1821 through 1837.

These 160 periodicals include reports on economics and government affairs. Titles include The New England Post Office Record and The Social Science Review. Also included are periodicals covering local news, such as Proceedings of the Vermont Historical Society, Collections of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and Bowen's Boston News Letter.

The African American Studies Center is an online, searchable collection of quality reference works, including African, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, Second Edition, and African American National Biography.

“Contains over 210 publications related chiefly to the hard science disciplines."

Contains over 210 periodicals, spanning the Colonial through the Jacksonian Eras, from the 1730s to 1840s. Includes titles such as The Ladies' Companion, The Lady's Book, and Margret Fuller's Transcendentalist publication, The Dial.