Physics Resource Guide: Internet Resources

"Caltech and The Feynman Lectures Website are pleased to present this online edition of The Feynman Lectures on Physics. Now, anyone with internet access and a web browser can enjoy reading a high quality up-to-date copy of Feynman's legendary lectures. However, we want to be clear that this edition is only free to read online, and this posting does not transfer any right to download all or any portion of The Feynman Lectures on Physics for any purpose. "

Volume I: Mainly mechanics, radiation and heat.
Volume II: Mainly electromagnetism and matter.
Volume III: Quantum mechanics

"Scitation is the online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP (American Institute of Physics) Publishing and AIP Member Societies." It offers "access to current, cutting edge research plus a deep archive of seminal physics content that supports the study and advancement of physics and related disciplines including physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, and acoustics." Much of the content is freely available, and marked as OA (open access) or F (free content).

The website of the American Physical Society - with sections devoted to APS publications and career guidance.

This site from the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) allows searches for the constants by name, or browsed by category (e.g. electromagnetic or physico-chemical). Novice physics students may be interested in the Background information related to the constants which includes the section Introduction to the constants for non-experts.

Part of the NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty. Provides an introduction to the SI units and prefixes, including definitions of the SI base units and their historical context, and units outside the SI that are accepted for use with the SI.

The Technical Reports Server is an index providing the public access to NASA's technical literature, and includes research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. The content of this site is primarily abstracts and citations; full-text documents can be ordered from the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information.

CERN's Document Server has several sections, including Articles & Preprints, which "aims to cover as far as possible the published and pre-published literature in particle physics and its related technologies. The documents originate from articles published in journals, preprints, technical reports, conference presentations, scientific committee documents and theses..."

"Open access to 744,434 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics."

Links to sources of preprints from the Research Library at Los Alamos National Laboratory, including preprint databases, such as the arXiv.org e-Print archive.

"The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 6.7 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints." The bulk of the data in the ADS is made up of bibliographic records and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature.

The Particle Data Group of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory created this interactive tour of quarks, neutrinos, anitmatter, extra dimensions, dark matter, and accelerators The tour is organized along a series of questions, (What is the world made of? What holds it together? How do we experiment with tiny particles?) followed by brief illustrated explanations. In addition, the website also offers a chart of fundamental particles.

"Review Articles and Tutorials in an Encyclopædic Format" produced by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

HyperPhysics is an interactive physics course designed in "flashcard" and "concept map" format, and produced by Dr. Rod Nave of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Georgia State University.

Based on his book called How Things Work: the Physics of Everyday Life, Louis Bloomfield, Professor of Physics, University of Virginia, has developed this guide to explain physical principles. Useful, practical information on the physics behind everyday things like: air conditioners, bicycles, clocks,lasers, television, wood stoves, and many more topics. Presented in a question and answer format, it is updated constantly with answers to new questions.

A website from the Institute of Physics (IOP) in the U.K., these physics resources includes features from Physics World magazine, recent news items related to physics, and links to physics reference resources.