Computer Science Resource Guide: Article Databases

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library is an online resource containing the "full text of every article ever published by ACM." Consult the IEEE Digital Library and ACM Digital Library Resource Guide for more information.

This database from the scientific, technical and business publisher Springer contains over 2,500 full-text peer reviewed journals including computer and information science journals and electronic and electrical engineering journals.

Consists of more than 1,500 scholarly journals with full-text including journals formerly offered by the Blackwell Synergy database which merged with Wiley Interscience in mid-2008. This multidisciplinary database includes journals in the areas of computer science, electrical and electronics engineering, and information science and computing.

Elsevier, a publisher of well-known, high-quality journal, produces this database. Among the 2,000 or so titles in the database available to Suffolk users, the full-text content includes about 60 electrical and electronic engineering journals and about 150 computer science journals.

Our best general research database, this online resource covers a wide range of academic areas including computer science and engineering, and provides indexing and abstracting for over 10,000 journals including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed publications. Full-text access is available for nearly 6,100 of the titles. Indexing and abstracting coverage begins generally from the mid-1980's and full-text coverage for many titles dating back to 1990. You may limit search results to full-text and/or peer-reviewed articles.

Comparable in size and coverage to Academic Search Complete, this is a very useful multidisplinary database with a good search interface. Subject areas covered include computer science and electrical engineering.

Stanford University's High Wire Press hosts 1,400 scholarly publications (with a focus on science, technology, and medicine) in this database. Includes some full-text articles in computer science journals. Citation searching capability for some of the articles. Please note that full-text access is available only to free access journals and to journals for which the Sawyer Library has a subscription.

This database consists of more than 200 scholarly journals from the Oxford University Press, many with full-text back to 1998, covering many disciplines. There are only a few computer science, communications technology, and electrical engineering titles, but these include Computer Journal and the IEICE Transactions.