Citation Tools
Citation tools offered by the Sawyer Library:
- Endnote This link opens in a new windowCitation management software. Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection. Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues. Use our plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
- NoodleBib via NoodleTools This link opens in a new windowResearch management/citation management tool.
- ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new windowIncludes a collection of short videos aimed at enhancing students' research and information literacy skills.
Free Citation tools on the Internet:
- Purdue OWL: Using Citation Generators ResponsiblyPurdue OWL has partnered with Chegg to offer a citation machine for APA and MLA.
- Zotero"Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research." Use the web-based version, and/or download the desktop application.
EndNote within the database, "Web of Science."
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. In addition to the Core Collection, searchable databases include Current Contents, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, and others.
Register with EndNote
First time users will first need to register for a free account.
Import into EndNote (Web of Science version)
To import your file into EndNote:
- At the top banner, select 'Collect,' then 'Import References.'
- Choose your saved RIS file.
- Choose RefMan RIS from the drop down box.
- The New Group location will let you name a new folder for this content in EndNote.
Download the Zotero App
- ZoteroZotero: "a free, easy-to-use tool to collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research."
- Zotero's installed desktop application will sync your work with the cloud version (zotero.org).
- This allows users to gather and work with references from any location.
- The Zotero cloud interface will automatically upload citation information from an article's DOI number, a book's ISBN number, or a URL.
- The Zotero App provides the same functions as the cloud version, plus the ability to import citations saved as an RIS file.
- Importing files of citations can only be done within the desktop application.
Use the installed Zotero App to import files
The Zotero desktop application has the File > Import option.
