Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foundation Directory: Home

Access the Foundation Directory Online

See also...

Foundation Directory: Basic Search

The Foundation Directory Online recommends that users begin by: 

  • searching for the cause or project to be funded,
  • together with the city or region in which the project is taking place.

Screen shot of the basic search box in Foundation Directory Online.

EDIT the Initial Search to Narrow or Expand Results

  • An initial search may generate thousands of potential grantmakers (funders).
  • Look for the EDIT button, to narrow your search.
  • The example below illustrates a search for information on grantmakers and grants in support of the homeless population in Boston, MA.

Screen shot of initial search results in the Foundation Directory Online, with the EDIT button highlighted.

Foundation Directory Online - Search Filters

  • Selecting the EDIT button opens the options displayed below.
  • The default setting for the subject area is to MATCH ANY of the subject terms. This setting can generate a large number of results.
  • To narrow the search, select MATCH ALL subject areas. 
  • To edit the Population Served, click in the box to generate a list of options, such as families, youth, or Veterans.
  • Use the Organization Type to narrow results by the type of funder (or recipient). Options include corporate giving and government agencies

Screen shot of search filters in Foundation Directory Online