1. Go to the Databases, listed by subject:
2. Navigate to the Sciences category:
Start with the Tertiary Literature
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowCovers all major scientific disciplines and contains more than 8500 encyclopedia articles, 115,000 definitions, 3000 biographies, and 18,000 downloadable images and animations.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowManipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.
- Scientific American This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to Scientific American magazine. From 1948 to present.
Suggested Database Sources of Secondary Literature
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window" Stand on the shoulders of giants.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature."
Suggested Sources of Primary Literature
- American Chemical Society Web Editions This link opens in a new window"The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences..."
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA large collection of references from over 4,000 journals in the life and biomedical sciences. Despite the word "abstracts" in the title, most records do link directly to full text articles held in other library databases.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowContains over 200 high quality, subscribed and open-access journals focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window" Stand on the shoulders of giants.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature." - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMedline is a database of medical literature from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The database incorporates NLM controlled vocabulary: the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window"Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology ... "
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window"PubMed Central launched in 2000 as a free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles."
- Science Magazine This link opens in a new window"Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today"
- Springer LINK This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary scholarly journals published by Springer Nature.