It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current students have access to the online resources from off-campus. At the point of clicking on a link, users should expect to be prompted for their Suffolk University username and password. This authenticates the user as part of the Suffolk community, and grants access to the online database.
Questions? Feel free to contact the Sawyer Library Reference Desk at: firstname.lastname@example.org !
Lots to choose from ...
"There are so many databases listed under the Political Science category, how do I know which to choose for what I need?"
The purpose of this guide is to provide brief descriptions of what users can expect to find within the various online resources that are of relevance to political science.
The article database Academic Search Complete (ASC) casts a wide net. It covers journals from most disciplines, including political science. Many of the journals are peer-reviewed (scholarly) sources. The majority of articles are available in the full-text. The database vendor, EBSCO, also produces Political Science Complete and EconLit. All three databases will look and behave much the same.
A much smaller database than Academic Search Complete, this article database covers topics in economics, and includes journals from the American Economic Association. Since it is produced by the vendor EBSCO, EconLit will look and behave much like Academic Search Complete.
A highly selective, multidisciplinary collection of over 1500 academic journals. JSTOR is known for its extensive backfile. It contains 227 journals in the category of political science, with coverage of U.S. politics, the politics of other nations and regions, and international affairs. American Journal of Political Science 1973 – 2018 The American Political Science Review 1906 – 2014 The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science 1890 – 2016 The Journal of Politics, 1939 - 2015 (Full Text Delay: 5 years)
Nexis Uni features news articles and legal sources (i.e. access to The New York Times from 1980 to present; articles from law reviews, legal cases, and statutes). The lower portion of the opening screen offers a Discovery section for Political Science, which gathers recent news, legislation, Supreme Court opinions, and law review articles.
Oxford Journals provide strong coverage of economics and international affairs. It also contains Public Opinion Quarterly 1996- present, without an embargo. (JSTOR contains the earliest issues, back to 1937.)
The database vendor, EBSCO, also produces Academic Search Complete (ASC), and EconLit.. All three databases will look and behave much the same. While much smaller than ASC, Political Science Complete is devoted to topics of interest to government and political science. In addition to articles it also includes conference papers from the International Political Science Association. Content includes: American Journal of Political Science, 2010 - present. Foreign Affairs, 1922 - present. Policy Studies Journal (APSA Organized Section Journal), 1972 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year. Current issues available via Wiley.) Political Communication (APSA Organized Section Journal) 1992 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months). Political Science Quarterly, 2013 - present.
Springer is a publisher of scholarly journals. A sample of its political science journal titles includes the following: International Politics. 2000 - present Interest Groups & Advocacy, 2012 - present.
[Covers the many groups, corporations and organized interests that seek to influence public policy.] Political Behavior, 1997 - present.
Published in association with the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior section of the American Political Science Association.
The publisher Wiley provides strong coverage of comparative politics, US politics, and international politics. It contains the most recent issues of: American Journal of Political Science, 2003 – present; (the back file extending to the 1970s is available in Political Science Complete and JSTOR.) Review of Policy Research, 1998 - present.
The CRS reports are one section of the ProQuest Congressional Publication platform. The platform contains legislative histories, transcripts of congressional hearings, proposed and enacted legislation, and executive (presidential) orders.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), an agency within the Library of Congress, provides authoritative, nonpartisan, research and analysis for the benefit of members of Congress. The CRS reports are the culmination of their efforts. See also the government site: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
A portal to multiple publications from CQ Press. Especially noteworthy are:
‘CQ Almanac’ - analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. Vital Statistics on American Politics
Founded in 1923, CQ Researcher is recognized for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of a wide range of current issues. Reports typically feature an overview, historical background, chronology, and a pro/con section. The articles are fact-checked, and include footnotes.
[N.B. 5 simultaneous user limit! Please log out when done using this resource.]
CQ Magazine publishes weekly “in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.” The March 23, 2020 issue has several articles relating to the Coronavirus crisis.
ProQuest’s Legislative Insight contains compilations of documents created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
Several document types may be part of a legislative history, including: bills, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Presidential Signing Statements, and statutes. Also includes a section explaining the steps in the legislative process.
[Note: Legislative Insight includes only documents related to the passage of a law. Hearings, reports, bills, etc., that are not part of a legislative history are not included in this data base. For those other materials, please use ProQuest Congressional Publication (CRS Reports) platform.]