Psychology Resource Guide: Psychological Tests

Scroll down the page to find information on the Psychology Department's library of psychological reference materials, pedagogical videotapes, guidance tests, and assessment tools.

Although the APA "neither sells nor endorses testing instruments," the APA's FAQ about Psychological Tests does "provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests." This guide contains tips to locating both published psychological tests (i.e. those available for purchase through a test publisher) and unpublished psychological tests and measures (those that are not commercially available).

The Buros Institute publishes the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP), which describe over 4000 tests. Each description includes the title, author, purpose, publisher, and review sources. The tests themselves are not available through Test Reviews Online. Sawyer Library also subscribes to MMY, and TIP.

The ETS Test Collection Database "was established to make information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers." The database "contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests that reside in the library of Educational Testing Service." A small subset of this collection ("Tests in Microfiche") which includes research and unpublished instruments are available for purchase from the ETS Library.

A brief, free, user's guide from the Buros Institute (http://www.unl.edu/buros/) to identifying tests and making effective use of their descriptions in the Mental Measurements Yearbook.

Once a test has been identified, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) review will help to judge the usefulness of the test. This guide discusses each section of the MMY review.

Another free user's guide from the Buros Institute, this one for using the publication Tests in Print. The Suffolk University online catalog gives information about Sawyer Library's holdings of and online access to the Tests in Print VI : An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests.