This guide provides selected information resources for French, German, and Spanish studies. Included are the Mildred F. Sawyer Library subscription reference and periodical databases, websites, and a brief list of print resources.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2017
Even though the electronic books from eBrary should also be listed in the online catalog, the catalog does not allow a search exclusively by the item's language. However, the advanced search in eBrary will generate a list of items written in a given language. The books will cover a range of subject areas, from economic forecasting to immigration law.
From the Advanced Search
- select 'Document Language' from the drop down box
- 'unclick' English
- then choose amongst Spanish (105 results), French (194 results), Portuguese (15 results), Swedish (not actually available), German (344 results), Dutch (15 results), and Korean (only 1 item).
Note: the language search does not work perfectly, and some items are either in English, or in another of the available languages.
- Literature Criticism Online
This resource unites 4 series: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). Each reprints criticism on major writers. American and British authors predominate, but there are volumes covering topics such as:
"French Literature" and "French New Novel"
"German Literature in Exile"
"Spanish Civil War Literature"
and the "Spanish Civil War in Literature."
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
Another digitized reference book series, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online "provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres." Several volumes are devoted to authors from Germany and France, and there are volumes covering Spain (including Castilian Writers, 1200-1400), Italy, and Austria as well.
- Cambridge Collections Online
This is the Complete Cambridge Companions reference book collection, consisting of the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics Collection (147 titles) and the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (95 titles). Relevant volumes include those on:
*The French Novel From 1800 To The Present
*Modern French Culture
*Modern German Culture
*Modern German Novel
*The Spanish Novel
*Modern Spanish Culture
- Cambridge Histories Online
The Cambridge History book series is an authoritative collection of scholarly works (over 250 volumes), which spans 15 different academic subjects. Users may browse subject areas and volumes or do keyword searching across the entire set. Volumes under Literary Studies include the:
Cambridge History of German Literature
Cambridge History of Spanish Literature.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of reference books and encyclopedias published by Gale, which has now been made available electronically. Titles relevant to French, German, and Spanish studies include:
Countries and Their Cultures; 4v, 2001.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies; 4v, 2002.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations; 11th ed., 6v, 2004.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras; 5v, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture; 3v, 2003.
- Encyclopedia of German Literature
An A-Z encyclopedia of topics in German Literature. Available online through Credo Reference, and as a two volume print reference set.
- Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
An A-Z encyclopedia; available online through Credo Reference, and as a two volume print reference set.
- Spanish and Portuguese Literatures and their Times : The Iberian Peninsula
"Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Spain and Portugal."
- Latin American Literature and Its Times
"Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America."
- ABC-CLIO eBooks
ABC-CLIO eBooks (formerly Greenwood) has a section on world literature. From the browse menu, choose Literature, and then look at both Literature (General) and World Literature. Relevant titles include:
Masterpieces of French Literature; The Germanic Mosaic: Cultural and Linguistic Diversity in Society; and Multicultural Writers from Antiquity to 1945: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook