LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Business

General Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Features thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.
Academic OneFile
Provides access to 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals, as well as newspapers, reference works, podcasts, and video content.
Boston Business Journal
Major source of business news for the Greater Boston area, with coverage from 1996 to present.
Suffolk University’s libraries have collaborated to provide free access to the Boston Business Journal for all Suffolk students, faculty, and staff. To create an account and log in to the BBJ site using Sawyer library's subscription:
1. Click on this link for Suffolk University users to create a BBJ account.
2. You must use your Suffolk University email address.
3. Create a password for your new BBJ account.
4. Complete the sign-up form.
5. Click "Start my membership".
6. On the "Group Subscriptions" page, check the box next to "Suffolk University".
You should receive a confirmation email once your account has been activated.
Business (Gale OneFile)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends back to 1980 as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Business Insights
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Includes detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete
Contains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Checkpoint Edge
Full-text database supporting accounting and tax research. Includes legal and regulatory information, news, and analysis.
Country Commerce (EIU)
Replaced by EIU Viewpoint
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).
D&B Key Business Ratios
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
D&B Key Business Ratios Archive (1979-2010)
Part of Mergent Archives. US corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the US Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. Coverage from 1979 to 2021.
EconLit with Full Text
Contains American Economic Association's EconLit reference database as well as full text of nearly 600 journals.
EIU Viewpoint
Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID)
An online international market research tool that monitors industry trends and offers strategic analysis, as well as a market size and market share database for products in countries around the world.
First Research (Hoovers)
Provides industry profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources; there are also state & province profiles.
Gale eBooks
Multidisciplinary eBook collection covering social sciences, history, business, literature, medicine, law and others.
Health Policy Reference Center
Includes full-text access to information in many areas of health policy, including health care access, care quality, and financing.
HeinOnline
Premier legal research platform with more than 205 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential state and federal government documents, international resources, case law, treaties, and more.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade publications, as well as travel guides and reference books covering the cultural, economic, and practical aspects of these industries.
IBISWorld Industry Research
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
IMF e-Library
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Covers macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF Statistical Database
Access to macroeconomic & financial data from the International Monetary Fund. Includes domestic and international financial data from 200 member countries from 1948.
Index to Legal Periodicals
Covers most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
Index to Legal Periodicals, Retrospective: 1908-1981
Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Also includes annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction, annual surveys of federal court cases, yearbooks and annual institutes.
Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)
Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
LLMC-Digital
Access to full text United States federal material and Canadian materials with an emphasis on archived older documents. Some additional access to military law materials.
Mergent Intellect (Includes Hoovers First Research)
Note: Retiring in July 2025, to be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas
Contains worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Includes both public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
Mergent Market Atlas
Successor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online
Note: To be discontinued June 2025.
Contains current global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. It includes access to SEC filings ("EDGAR"), six years of annual reports, and "portraits," which provide detailed financial data in a cleanly designed tabular format.
Mergent WebReports (Moody's Manual Archive)
Provides in-depth insights into the history of corporate America. The online manual collection contains detailed, historical financial information on publicly traded U.S. companies from 1909 to 2022.
MRI University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter)
A consumer intelligence platform providing data on consumer demographics, behaviors, preferences, and attitudes. Note: As of Summer 2021, the MRI platform has changed and patrons no longer need to register or create an MRI user account to access market research data.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
A growing collection of working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research.
New York Times 1851-2018
Full text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)
Nexis Uni
Notes: As of July 2023, Nexis Uni has been replaced by Westlaw Campus.
NoodleBib via NoodleTools
Research management/citation management tool.
OECD iLibrary
Provides access to books, papers, and data services from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Oxford Books Online
Multi-disciplinary academic publisher
Oxford Journals Online
Interdisciplinary collection of over 300 journals published by Oxford University Press.
Pivot-RP
Sign up for a personal account while on campus so that you can use this resource from off campus.
ReferenceUSA
Extensive directory of U.S. and Canadian businesses. Includes American consumer data and mapping/charting tools.
RefWorks Proquest
Note: This system was retired October 2024. Consider an alternate tool, such as EndNote, NoodleTools, or Zotero.
SAGE Journals Online
A collection of 1,000+ high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering many disciplines, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of articles from over 2000 journals published by Elsevier.
Springer LINK
SpringerLink is a collection of ebooks and journals covering scientific, technical and medical literature.
ValueLine Research Center
N.B. 3 simultaneous user limit! Please log out when done using this resource.
Wall Street Journal 1889-2004
Full text and searchable digitized version of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 through 2004.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Searchable full text of the WSJ Eastern Edition. Coverage runs from January 2, 1984 through the present day.
Wall Street Journal Online (Site License)
Suffolk University’s libraries have collaborated to provide free access to the Wall Street Journal for all Suffolk students, faculty, and staff. Register with your Suffolk email address using the link above. Provides access to WSJ, Barron's, MarketWatch, and Investor's Business Daily. Does not include add-on subscribed features.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. In addition to the Core Collection, searchable databases include Current Contents, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, and others.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news with in depth law-related information.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
WRDS is a hybrid research platform and business intelligence tool. If you are a new WRDS user, you must first register for an account using your Suffolk email address. Note: This resource is managed by our IT department; contact servicedesk@suffolk.edu for technical assistance.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary academic publisher
World Bank Open Data
Open access to all World Bank data and statistics, covering databases, pre-formatted tables and reports on international economic and financial data.

Accounting & Taxation

Business Source Complete
Contains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Checkpoint Edge
Full-text database supporting accounting and tax research. Includes legal and regulatory information, news, and analysis.
EconLit with Full Text
Contains American Economic Association's EconLit reference database as well as full text of nearly 600 journals.
Nexis Uni
Notes: As of July 2023, Nexis Uni has been replaced by Westlaw Campus.
Mergent Market Atlas
Successor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online
Note: To be discontinued June 2025.
Contains current global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. It includes access to SEC filings ("EDGAR"), six years of annual reports, and "portraits," which provide detailed financial data in a cleanly designed tabular format.
Mergent WebReports (Moody's Manual Archive)
Provides in-depth insights into the history of corporate America. The online manual collection contains detailed, historical financial information on publicly traded U.S. companies from 1909 to 2022.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of articles from over 2000 journals published by Elsevier.

Company & Industry Information

Company Information Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Features thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.
Business Insights
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Includes detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete
Contains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade publications, as well as travel guides and reference books covering the cultural, economic, and practical aspects of these industries.
Mergent Intellect (Includes Hoovers First Research)
Note: Retiring in July 2025, to be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas
Contains worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Includes both public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
Mergent Market Atlas
Successor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online
Note: To be discontinued June 2025.
Contains current global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. It includes access to SEC filings ("EDGAR"), six years of annual reports, and "portraits," which provide detailed financial data in a cleanly designed tabular format.
Mergent WebReports (Moody's Manual Archive)
Provides in-depth insights into the history of corporate America. The online manual collection contains detailed, historical financial information on publicly traded U.S. companies from 1909 to 2022.
Nexis Uni
Notes: As of July 2023, Nexis Uni has been replaced by Westlaw Campus.
ValueLine Research Center
N.B. 3 simultaneous user limit! Please log out when done using this resource.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Searchable full text of the WSJ Eastern Edition. Coverage runs from January 2, 1984 through the present day.
Wall Street Journal Online (Site License)
Suffolk University’s libraries have collaborated to provide free access to the Wall Street Journal for all Suffolk students, faculty, and staff. Register with your Suffolk email address using the link above. Provides access to WSJ, Barron's, MarketWatch, and Investor's Business Daily. Does not include add-on subscribed features.

Industry Information Databases

Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID)
An online international market research tool that monitors industry trends and offers strategic analysis, as well as a market size and market share database for products in countries around the world.
First Research (Hoovers)
Provides industry profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources; there are also state & province profiles.
IBISWorld Industry Research
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
Sports Market Analytics
SBRnet and the Sports Market Analytics Data Platform are a comprehensive online platform of nationwide sports business data and analytics, using syndicated and custom proprietary research for the professional and college sports categories as well as sports participation and equipment sales information. Data is driven from consumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. Currently over 240 colleges and universities as well as leading Marketing & Sponsorship Agencies utilize our data to help them identify, target and activate using data.

Industry Ratios

D&B Key Business Ratios
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
D&B Key Business Ratios Archive (1979-2010)
Part of Mergent Archives. US corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the US Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. Coverage from 1979 to 2021.

Directory Information

ReferenceUSA
Extensive directory of U.S. and Canadian businesses. Includes American consumer data and mapping/charting tools.

International Business Studies

Country Commerce (EIU)
Replaced by EIU Viewpoint
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).
EIU Viewpoint
Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID)
An online international market research tool that monitors industry trends and offers strategic analysis, as well as a market size and market share database for products in countries around the world.
IMF e-Library
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Covers macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF Statistical Database
Access to macroeconomic & financial data from the International Monetary Fund. Includes domestic and international financial data from 200 member countries from 1948.
OECD iLibrary
Provides access to books, papers, and data services from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
World Bank Open Data
Open access to all World Bank data and statistics, covering databases, pre-formatted tables and reports on international economic and financial data.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary academic publisher

Market Research

EIU Viewpoint
Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID)
An online international market research tool that monitors industry trends and offers strategic analysis, as well as a market size and market share database for products in countries around the world.
IBISWorld Industry Research
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
MRI University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter)
A consumer intelligence platform providing data on consumer demographics, behaviors, preferences, and attitudes. Note: As of Summer 2021, the MRI platform has changed and patrons no longer need to register or create an MRI user account to access market research data.
ReferenceUSA
Extensive directory of U.S. and Canadian businesses. Includes American consumer data and mapping/charting tools.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
A collection of handbooks on market research and consumer behavior that incorporate market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. The books also include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
Sports Market Analytics
SBRnet and the Sports Market Analytics Data Platform are a comprehensive online platform of nationwide sports business data and analytics, using syndicated and custom proprietary research for the professional and college sports categories as well as sports participation and equipment sales information. Data is driven from consumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. Currently over 240 colleges and universities as well as leading Marketing & Sponsorship Agencies utilize our data to help them identify, target and activate using data.

Management

ABI/INFORM Collection
Features thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.
Academic OneFile
Provides access to 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals, as well as newspapers, reference works, podcasts, and video content.
Boston Business Journal
Major source of business news for the Greater Boston area, with coverage from 1996 to present.
Suffolk University’s libraries have collaborated to provide free access to the Boston Business Journal for all Suffolk students, faculty, and staff. To create an account and log in to the BBJ site using Sawyer library's subscription:
1. Click on this link for Suffolk University users to create a BBJ account.
2. You must use your Suffolk University email address.
3. Create a password for your new BBJ account.
4. Complete the sign-up form.
5. Click "Start my membership".
6. On the "Group Subscriptions" page, check the box next to "Suffolk University".
You should receive a confirmation email once your account has been activated.
Business Insights
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Includes detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete
Contains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Country Commerce (EIU)
Replaced by EIU Viewpoint
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).
D&B Key Business Ratios
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
D&B Key Business Ratios Archive (1979-2010)
Part of Mergent Archives. US corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the US Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. Coverage from 1979 to 2021.
EconLit with Full Text
Contains American Economic Association's EconLit reference database as well as full text of nearly 600 journals.
EIU Viewpoint
Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
First Research (Hoovers)
Provides industry profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources; there are also state & province profiles.
Foundation Directory Online
Provides information on 140,000 grantmakers and 3.9 million grants.
Gale eBooks
Multidisciplinary eBook collection covering social sciences, history, business, literature, medicine, law and others.
Health Policy Reference Center
Includes full-text access to information in many areas of health policy, including health care access, care quality, and financing.
HeinOnline
Premier legal research platform with more than 205 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential state and federal government documents, international resources, case law, treaties, and more.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
IBISWorld Industry Research
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Leadership and management (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more.
Mergent Intellect (Includes Hoovers First Research)
Note: Retiring in July 2025, to be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas
Contains worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Includes both public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
Mergent Market Atlas
Successor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online
Note: To be discontinued June 2025.
Contains current global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. It includes access to SEC filings ("EDGAR"), six years of annual reports, and "portraits," which provide detailed financial data in a cleanly designed tabular format.
Mergent WebReports (Moody's Manual Archive)
Provides in-depth insights into the history of corporate America. The online manual collection contains detailed, historical financial information on publicly traded U.S. companies from 1909 to 2022.
New York Times 1851-2018
Full text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)
Nexis Uni
Notes: As of July 2023, Nexis Uni has been replaced by Westlaw Campus.
NoodleBib via NoodleTools
Research management/citation management tool.
OECD iLibrary
Provides access to books, papers, and data services from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Oxford Books Online
Multi-disciplinary academic publisher
Oxford Journals Online
Interdisciplinary collection of over 300 journals published by Oxford University Press.
Pivot-RP
Sign up for a personal account while on campus so that you can use this resource from off campus.
RefWorks Proquest
Note: This system was retired October 2024. Consider an alternate tool, such as EndNote, NoodleTools, or Zotero.
SAGE Journals Online
A collection of 1,000+ high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering many disciplines, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of articles from over 2000 journals published by Elsevier.
Sports Market Analytics
SBRnet and the Sports Market Analytics Data Platform are a comprehensive online platform of nationwide sports business data and analytics, using syndicated and custom proprietary research for the professional and college sports categories as well as sports participation and equipment sales information. Data is driven from consumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. Currently over 240 colleges and universities as well as leading Marketing & Sponsorship Agencies utilize our data to help them identify, target and activate using data.
Springer LINK
SpringerLink is a collection of ebooks and journals covering scientific, technical and medical literature.
ValueLine Research Center
N.B. 3 simultaneous user limit! Please log out when done using this resource.
Wall Street Journal 1889-2004
Full text and searchable digitized version of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 through 2004.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Searchable full text of the WSJ Eastern Edition. Coverage runs from January 2, 1984 through the present day.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. In addition to the Core Collection, searchable databases include Current Contents, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, and others.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary academic publisher