Recomended Research Guides
- Industry Information Resource GuideProvides comprehensive information on industry information. Covers online reference sources, articles, business news, competitors, industry ratios, SIC/NAICS, Industry Rankings, websites, and print reference sources.
Generate Lists of Competitors
The tools below allow users to generate their own lists of companies based on criteria such as industry, location, and size.
For those who are looking for key competitors in a major industry, regardless of location, then most databases which provide company information also include a list of key competitors within the profile. To this end, in addition to the resources below, users should also do a 'companies search' in the Standard and Poor's S&PNetAdvantage.
For those who are looking for key competitors in a major industry, regardless of location, then most databases which provide company information also include a list of key competitors within the profile. To this end, in addition to the resources below, users should also do a 'companies search' in the Standard and Poor's S&PNetAdvantage.
- ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new windowThis directory of American businesses (14 million) is compiled from: telephone directories; annual reports, SEC information; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, newspapers, industry and specialty directories; and postal service information. Users may generate lists of companies based on criteria such as SIC, NAICS, yellow page heading, and geographic location. Includes smaller, private companies.
- Mergent Intellect (Includes Hoovers First Research) This link opens in a new windowThe Advanced Search allows users to generate a list of competitors based on industry, location, and size.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online covers 15,000 U.S. public companies (typically larger companies). In the Advanced Search, use the tabs to generate a list of companies based on location, financials, ratios, stock pricing, or industry (SIC or NAICS). The Sawyer Library contract is for 3 simultaneous users; please log off when finished.
- Nexis UniThe Nexis 'Company Dossier' search form (Find a Company / Create a List) allows searches by both SIC and NAICS codes, as well as the option of searching the text of the Business or Brands/Products descriptions. The Dossier search can also be found under the MENU drop down box next to the Nexis Uni logo.
- Business Insights This link opens in a new windowSelect Advanced Search > Companies to generate a list of companies based on revenue, NAICS, and/or location.
- IBISWorld Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
Online Reference Sources for Industry Information
- IBISWorld Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
- First Research (Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides Industry Profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources, such as Title Insurance Services, or Optometrists. There are also State & Province Profiles, which provide a snapshot of the business climate in individual states and provinces. - EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
- MergentOnline: Industry Reports
Mergent is primarily used to find company financial information, however it also has industry reports, which cover 24 industries in North America, Asia, Europe, and Latin America. (To locate: From the opening screen, choose the Report Search tab, then change the default from Equity to Industries.) Sawyer Library has a license for three simultaneous users, therefore please "log out" when you have completed your research.
- Business Insights This link opens in a new windowCompany profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Includes detailed company and industry news and information.
- Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID) This link opens in a new windowAn online international market research tool that monitors industry trends and offers strategic analysis, as well as a market size and market share database for products in countries around the world.
- Euromonitor Blog: Analyst InsightsRead interesting posts from the analysts at Euromonitor on industries, companies, international markets, and business trends.
- ValueLine Research Center This link opens in a new windowN.B. 3 simultaneous user limit! Please log out when done using this resource.
Industry Ratios:
Print Sources
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)Call Number: REF Desk HF 5681 .R25 I525D&B covers the widest range of industries, "over 800 lines of business," as defined by SIC code. Includes "typical" balance sheet and income statements with "common-size" financial figures, as well as 14 performance ratios.
- RMA Annual Statement Studies (Robert Morris)Call Number: REF Desk HF 5681 .B2 R6The print publication provides "common-size" balance sheets and income statements, and 16 financial and operating ratios, for over 500 lines of business, by company size groups. It is organized by SIC code.
- (Troy's) Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial RatiosCall Number: REF Desk HF5681 .R25 T861The Troy's Almanac is organized by the NAICS System. An appendix provides a translation between the NAICS and SIC codes. 192 industries are covered. Performance averages are broken down by 12 categories based on asset size. Each industry is described by fifty performance indicators, which are based on tax returns.
- Value LineCall Number: REF Desk HG4501 .V26Value Line Survey Issues provide a one page Industry Commentary of each industry covered by Value Line. These commentaries frequently include a chart of retrospective and estimated composite statistics, such as the Average Annual P/E Ratio.