Environmental Science Resource Guide: International Organization Websites

An "intergovernmental body that provides scientific, technical, and socio-economic advice to the world community, in particular to the 170+ Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. It is open to all members of the U.N. Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)." IPCC Assessment Reports and presentations of all Working Groups are available in full-text and in several languages.

An energy forum for 26 industrialized countries, committed to joint measures for meeting oil supply emergencies, sharing energy information, and coordinating policies. The IEA Topic Page provides full-text publications, papers, data, and newsletters. Browse by topic or search by keyword or country. The Statistics page is a searchable database of statistics.

The World Bank's Environment website provides a comprehensive overview of its work with the environment. Choose "Topics" for more specific links to research and projects. Click "Documents & Reports to access full-text working papers , research reports, and other publications.

The United Nations is an international organization committed to maintaining peace and security and promoting social progress, better living standards, and human rights. Its work includes a broad range of issues, from sustainable development, environment and refugee protection, disaster relief, counter terrorism, and disarmament to promoting human rights, economic and social development, and international health. The UN has several programs which focus on the world's environmental health.

Links to issues, reports, agencies, news, and science information which are encompassed within the United Nations environmental endeavors, including the Global Environment Outlook, which covers the state of the environment and policy responses from 1972 to date.

This site links to full-text working papers, environmental and economic accounting handbooks, newsletters, and a glossary. Texts of some publications require a subscription.

The U.N. Commission on Sustainable Development was established in 1992 following the Rio Earth Summit. The CSD was created to monitor and report on implementation of its agreements and all agreements that followed. Links to text of key conference agreements and documents from intergovernmental meetings are provided. Includes a Sustainable Consumption and Production Database of CSD and UNEP documents, agreements, and reports and a CSD Partnership Database, containing information about 260 partner

Adopted in 1992, the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change sought to address global climate issues. The Kyoto Protocol followed five years later. The UNFCC website contains pertinent documents (reports, decisions, information), text and parties of the Kyoto Protocol and the Climate Convention, guides to the climate change process, and a searchable library and document center.

Provides full-text data and publications accessible by browsing or searching. Broad issues are arranged by topics, which include full-text working papers and specific databases. Topics covered include biosafety, climate change, natural resource management, trade and investment, waste management, and much more.

Links to individual country websites. Each site provides full-text reports, projects, and information about endangered wildlife and their respective habitats.

The WHO's environmental site provides links to reports, news, fact sheets, events, and cooperating programmes. The WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) is a searchable database of statistics gathered from each of the WHO's 192 countries.

Leading international conservation organization which seeks to protect ecosystems and people and wildlife that live in them. Links to research projects containing full-text reports. Also, contains news and event information. Provides "Resources" links to rainforest facts by broad topic.