Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marine Science Resource Guide: Library Databases

Library Databases

Biological Abstracts
The premier bibliographic database for the life sciences and biomedical research literature (covers more than 4,000 journals internationally). Lots of linked full-text.
 
BioOne
Founded by organizations such as The American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) and Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), this database contains full-text biological, ecological and environmental sciences research journals of small societies and non-commercial publishers.
 
Wiley Online Library
The publisher John Wiley & Sons, Inc. produces this database consisting of its own scientific, technical, and medical full-text journals as well as more than 850 scholarly journals from the Blackwell Synergy database which merged with Wiley Interscience on July 1, 2008. The life sciences journals in this database address subjects such as zoology, ecology, biology, anatomy, bioinformatics, genetics, genomics, molecular cell biology, and neuroscience.
 
SpringerLink
Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technical, and medical books and journals, provides indexing and full-text for about 750 of its journals in this database. Includes approximately 200 biological sciences and medical journals.
 
HighWire Press
HighWire Press, a division of the Stanford University Libraries, produces this high-quality database of over 350 scholarly physical, biological, social and medical sciences journals, but not all of the articles you retrieve are freely accessible, i.e. you may be asked if you want to purchase an article.
 
Academic Search Complete
Our best general research database, this online multi-disciplinary resource covers a wide range of academic areas including biology, chemistry, physics, and medical sciences and provides indexing and abstracting for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications with full-text access for over 3,600 of the titles. Indexing and abstracting coverage begins generally from the mid-1980's and full-text coverage for many titles dates back to 1990. You may limit search results to full-text and/or peer-reviewed articles.
 
Academic OneFile
Provides indexing and abstracting of 3,000 academic and popular journals covering a variety of academic fields. Full-text provided for about 2,000 titles. Coverage begins in 1980. You may limit search results to full-text and/or peer-reviewed articles.
 
JSTOR
JSTOR, the self-described "scholary journal archive," includes articles found in the aquatic sciences, biological sciences, zoology, and ecology and evolutionary biology categories. If you are doing historical research or searching for older articles, you will appreciate JSTOR's policy of including the entire backfile of journals in its database. Be aware that the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) of journals are not available on JSTOR.
 

 

Librarian Contact

Anna Hocker's picture
Anna Hocker
Contact:
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
73 Tremont Street
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 573 - 8532