Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marine Science Resource Guide: Selected Reference Sources

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences
 
Gale Virtual Reference
This collection of online reference works includes: Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Aquaculture; Water: Science and Issues; Pollution A to Z; Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia; and Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America.
 
Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology: From Genome to Environment
Described by the publishers as "the first ever Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology. It contains over 250 entries written by the world's foremost authorities on fish physiology with topic coverage from fish genomics through to behavior. Extensive entries in systems physiology are integrated with anatomy, the environment, and phylogentics to provide a comprehensive coverage of the field."
 
A Dictionary of Ecology
Available online in the Oxford Reference Online Premium collection, this dictionary contains definitions for about 5,000 terms in the areas of environmental pollution and conservation, evolution, oceanography, animal physiology and behavior, and more. Also available in print in the Sawyer Library Reference stacks (REF QH540.4 .C66 2004).
 
Encyclopedia of Marine Science
REF GC9 .N53 2009
Containing about 600 entries and 150 photographs, charts, or diagrams, the encyclopedia attempts to provide information on major marine science concepts. There are also brief topical essays, some with bibliographies.
 
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals
REF QL701.2 .E53 2002
The editors of this one-volume encyclopedia state that their goal is "to summarize the field of marine mammalogy." The concise and informative articles include line drawings, photographs, and both references and cross-references.
 
Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates
REF QL365.4.A1 E36 2010
Each chapters includes discussions on the general biology, ecology, and collection and maintenance of a range of freshwater invertebrates. Includes ample photographs and illustrations.
 
Encyclopedia of Tidepools & Rocky Shores
REF QH541.5 .S35 E53 2007
This encyclopedia deals with "all of the physical and biological aspects of tidepool and rocky shore habitats." It contains articles on topics in areas such as oceanography, plants, algae, fungi, and microbes, ecology and behavior, invertebrate and vertebrate animals, and includes many color photographs.
 
The Fisheries of North America: an Illustrated Guide to Commercial Species
REF SH219 .R57 2006
Lists the scientific, market, and common names and aliases of major commercial species along with illustrations and basic information about habitat, fishing methods, life cycles, and landings information and returns to fishermen.
 
The State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture 2006
REF SH1 .S855 2006
The FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department prepared this volume which contains a world review of fisheries and aquaculture, a discussion of issues, highlights of special studies, and an outlook section with numerous statistics.
 
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
REF QH302.5 .E54 2002
The twenty volumes that constitute the Encyclopedia cover ten core areas of the biological sciences. Volume 20 includes: an alphabetical listing of the articles; a subject index; a glossary; a study guide of core introductory articles; and an appendix containing additional reference information.
 
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
REF QH83 .S89
In two volumes, this reference work presents the higher level taxonomy of living organisms. Synoptic articles of all taxa down to the family level.
 
Coastal and Ocean Management Law in a Nutshell
REF KF5627.Z9 C48 2015
This is a compact volume which discusses and describes the law and cites important cases in areas such as the management of coastal resources, pollution and the marine environment, and domestic ocean policy and the law of the sea.
 

Librarian Contact

Anna Hocker's picture
Anna Hocker
Contact:
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
73 Tremont Street
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 573 - 8532