Sawyer Library Databases
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU) - Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P database of financial information for thousands of companies. Includes industry profiles, stock charting tool, and more.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowNote: To be discontinued June 2025.
Contains current global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. It includes access to SEC filings ("EDGAR"), six years of annual reports, and "portraits," which provide detailed financial data in a cleanly designed tabular format.
Selected Industries & Commodities - Profiles and Statistics
- Trade Statistics from Trade.govData Topics:
National U.S. Trade
Sub-National U.S. Trade
U.S. Exporting Companies
Jobs Supported by Exports
Tariffs & U.S. Trade - UN Comtrade Database"Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables."
- International Trade Centre: Trade StatisticsThe International Trade Centre provides ten years worth (2001-2010) of statistics on trade organized by product group and country (or by country and product group). For example, under the product group "0305 - Fish,Dried/Salted/Smoked," the user will find that Norway, Poland, and Iceland have been ranked consistently amongst the top exporters for this category in recent years.
- Competitive Alternatives: IndustriesThis section of the Competitive Alternatives website (a guide to business costs produced by KPMG, a network of audit and tax services firms) provides "industry-specific results summaries" for 17 industries from four sectors, including manufacturing, research & development, software, and corporate services. Costs are compared accross 128 cities in nine industrialized countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Singapore, the United Kingdom, and the U.S.
