International Trade and Business Resource Guide: Print Resources

This four volume set presents a "comprehensive overview of the economic structure and current climate of 198 countries and territories." This title is also available online; follow the link to Gale Virtual Reference from the catalog.

This comprehensive reference set includes over 900 articles on all aspects of economic history. Essay topics include the effect of labor unions on laborer's living standards, and the question of whether high taxation leads to economic decline.

Biannual periodical issued by the Department of Economics and Statistics, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. Also covered in multiple periodical databases, from 1989 to the present.

Provides discussion of trade policy reform, the functioning of the World Trade Organization (WTO), and challenges confronting developing countries in obtaining access to export markets.

Also available via: IMF Statistical Databases Contains balance of payment data for 160 countries and international investment position data for 40 countries.

Also available via: IMF Statistical Databases. Provides the value of imports and exports for 184 countries.

Also available via: IMF Statistical Databases. Provides data on revenue and expenditures of central governments.

Also available via: IMF Statistical Databases. Provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance, such as data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, and international transactions.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) report on the economic developments and policies of member countries, developments in international financial markets, and the global economic system. Includes tables, charts, and a statistical appendix.

Topics include: population and migration, macroeconomic trends, prices, public policy, and quality of life. This title is also available online, 2005-present, at the OECD iLibrary.

Online access to the 2010-11 GCR via the World Economic Forum A publication of the World Economic Forum and Oxford University Press. Includes competitiveness indexes, regional analyses, country profiles, and data tables with country rankings.

Provides country snapshots, and rankings of countries according to various performance measures.

Euromonitor's "unique compilation of hard-to-get political and economic information on 204 countries of the world." Each country is treated with a textual overview and statistical information.

United Nations publication that provides data at the world, regional and national levels "on the world economy, its structure, major trends and current performance, as well as on issues such as population and social statistics, economic activity and international economic relations."

Annual survey published by the United Nations. "Covers current trends and policies in the world economy. Part I contains the forecasts of short-term global and regional growth and trade and finance trends. Part II provides a broad discussion of vulnerabilities, such as in trade and finance, that hinder the catch-up modernization process of many developing countries and economies in transition."

A complete basic compilation of statistical data relevant to the analysis of world trade and development, produced by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). UNCTAD also provides an online database of statistics, UnctadStat.

A trilingual (English, French and Spanish) annual publication of the International Labour Office. "This annual resource provides the principal labour statistics for over 190 countries, areas and territories, with tables providing detailed data from the last ten years." Topics include "the economically active population, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labour costs, consumer prices, occupational injuries, and strikes and lockouts."

Follow the link in the online catalog to retrieve this publication as a PDF file from the World Bank website.

The World Development Report series, published annually by the World Bank, provides scholarship on the economic and social state of the world.

"Provides comprehensive statistical information about U.S. imports and exports of both goods and services; a complete accounting of U.S. international transactions," with data going back to 1960. Includes state and metro area export data.

Provides information on GDP, employment, production, prices, productivity, international trade, money supply, and interest rates. Most data tables present 30 years of annual data and four years of monthly data.

Analysis of trends and outlooks for the world economy produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). In addition to analysis and trends, each volume focuses on specific issues. The Trade and Development Report 2007 regional cooperation.

The CRB Commodity Yearbook provides information on the "worldwide supply/demand and production/consumption data for all the basic commodities and futures markets–from A(luminum) to Z(inc), including all the major markets in interest rates, currencies, energy, grains and stock index futures."

This volume provides "facts on 300 of the world's most influential companies based outside of the United States." Includes profiles of 300 major global companies, as well as lists of "the largest, fastest-growing, and most valuable companies of global importance."

A "comprehensive business and financial reference detailing 9,000 significant non-U.S. based companies in over 100 countries." The Sawyer Library also subscribes to an online database with similar information, Mergent Online, and an electronic archive of the printed manuals, Mergent WebReports (Moody's Manual Archive). Sawyer Library has a license for three simultaneous users for Mergent Online, therefore please "log out" when you have completed your research.

The online version of the following two directories:

In addition to a country-by-country risk assessment, this volume offers essays of analysis for region and an outlook for the world economy and trade.

Online access to the 2010-11 GCR via the World Economic Forum
A publication of the World Economic Forum and Oxford University Press. Includes competitiveness indexes, regional analyses, country profiles, and data tables with country rankings.

Provides country snapshots, and rankings of countries according to various performance measures.

A series of books, highlighted in a box on this page, covering most of the world's regions.

Covers the nuts and bolts of identifying markets, pricing products, trade restrictions, and payment methods for sales.

Subtitle: Handbook of the global trade community includes 21 key appendices.

Also available via Oxford Reference Online.