See also...
- Video Tutorials on Finding Country InformationPointers to databases covering international consumer trends, country risk, and economic analysis.
Global Industries and Companies
- Euromonitor International: PassportEuromonitor's Passport provides detailed international market research, presented as industry, company, country, and consumer reports. See the guide: Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online is primarily used to find financial information about publicly traded companies, however users will find an option for industry reports, covering 29 industries in North America, Asia Pacific, and Europe. There are also brief country profiles, and the advanced search may be used to identify companies operating in foreign countries. Sawyer Library has a license for three simultaneous users, therefore please "Log Out" when you have completed your research.
- UniworldThe online version of two directories:
- Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (REF HG4538.A1 D5 2007)
- Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States (REF HG4538 .A21943 2008)
Country Information & Global Issues
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU)
- Euromonitor International: Passport
Passport, produced by Euromonitor, is a database aiming to provide international consumer and market research. To that end, there are multiple types of country reports. See the guide "Country Information in Euromonitor's Passport." - Euromonitor Blog: Analyst InsightsRead interesting posts from the analysts at Euromonitor on industries, companies, international markets, and business trends.
- IMF eLibraryThe IMF eLibrary describes itself as a resource for finding "in-depth, independent analysis on the financial crisis, development, macroeconomics, poverty reduction, trade, globalization, and much more."
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Self described as the "OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals," this is a massive resource. Journals titles include the OECD Economic Outlook and the OECD Economic Surveys; statistical sources include the National Accounts of OECD Countries and Country Statistical Profiles, which are annually updated snapshots of data selected from more than 40 statistical OECD databases. Tutorials on using the OECD iLibrary is now available on YouTube. - Europa World This link opens in a new window
This is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, which covers "political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe." Note the comparative statistics section, which allows the comparison of two or more nations in the areas of agriculture, industry, finance, trade, and education. - Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context aims to provide international perspectives on topics of global importance and current world events. The database brings together a variety of sources to present and analyse issues in many areas: social, political, military, economic, environmental, and cultural. Global Issues in Context includes primary sources, statistics, over 200 international newspaper sources, and video content. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is primarily used to find detailed financial information about publicly traded companies, however users will find: 1) an option for country profiles; 2) the Report Search contains industry reports by world region; 3) the advanced search may be used to identify companies operating in foreign countries. Sawyer Library has a license for three simultaneous users, therefore please "log out" when you have completed your research.
International Market Research
- Euromonitor International: PassportProduced by Euromonitor, this database provides very detailed international market research, presented as industry, company, country, and consumer reports. Although difficult to use, users may find detailed reports on specific subsets of industries throughout the world. Three recent examples are reports on the market for fast food in Germany, the retailing of durable goods in Egypt, and products and services in the market for eye care in Taiwan.
Financial Statistics and Global Economics
- World Databank: World Development Indicators (WDI) & Global Development Finance (GDF) Online"World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS)." In addition, this section leads to databases for gender statistics, health, nutrition, and population statistics.
- Global Development FinanceA publication of the World Bank. The 2010 volume is available in print, and previous volumes (1999-2009) are available electronically at the World Bank website.
- IMF Statistical DatabasesIMF (International Monetary Fund) Statistical Databases provide data for "the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation..." Users may select and display a series in a spreadsheet format, and download to Microsoft Excel. Print versions are available in the International Financial Statistics Yearbook and the IMF also provides some data on its website.
- IMF eLibrary DataThe IMF eLibrary data reports displays the information in graphic and spreadsheet formats.
