LibGuides: Nonprofits, Philanthropic Organizations and Grant Writing Resource Guide: Grant Sources and Funding Opportunities

990 Tax Form Finder

The Foundation Center's 990 Tax Form Finder
Foundations must file form 990 with the IRS, which provides financial data, names of trustees and officers, and a complete list of grants from the previous year.
ProPublica: Nonprofit Explorer
"Use this database to search over 1.8 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses."

Associated Grant Makers: Massachusetts Affiliates

Philanthropy Massachusetts: Grants Resource Network
Philanthropy Massachusetts is a membership association of philanthropic organizations with "interests in Massachusetts and surrounding areas." The AGM partners with two Massachusetts organizations: The Grants Resource Center at Essex County Community Foundation, and the Grant Resource Center of Merrimack Valley, located at Northern Essex Community College.

Get Feeds & Updates on Funding!

Grants.gov Subscriptions
Find out about the latest Federal grants through options on this page.
National Science Foundation Updates
Here is a list of the various NSF RSS feeds you can sign up for.
NIH Guide LISTSERV
Interested in National Institutes of Health Grant Policies, Guidelines and Funding Opportunities? Sign up for a weekly email via this LISTSERV.
City of Boston Funding Update
Sign up here for Boston's Funding Update, and scroll down the page for a link to previous issues.
Department of Justice E-mail Updates
Sign up here for DOJ updates.

Pivot-RP for Funding Opportunities

Pivot - RP
Originally known as COS-Pivot (Community of Science), this resource "gives Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions the edge to bring together the right research opportunities, funding, and people quickly and easily. It provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students."

The University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs currently provides on-campus access to Pivot-RP. Search for funding opportunities using the Advanced Search, which allows for the greatest flexibility. This up-to-date database provides announcements for grants, fellowships, and awards in all disciplines including the physical sciences, social sciences, life sciences, health and medicine, arts and humanities. Pivot resources can be accessed via any computer with a Suffolk University IP address.

Foundation Center: Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Foundation Directory Online provides information describing over 100,000 grant makers and their funding opportunities. This database is updated weekly, and includes IRS 990 forms as well as company information to help grant seekers tailor their proposals for maximum impact with grant makers.

Foundation Directory Online Professional empowers grant-seekers to find funding for nonprofit projects.

Foundation Directory Online Guides
Foundation Directory Online offers documents to support users including FAQs, search tutorials and an in-depth description of FDO's search terms and classification systems to empower the expert FDO user.
Foundation Directory - Quick Start [Free with registration]

Other Selected Sources for Grant Information and Funding

The following websites either list funding opportunities or provide useful information on the grantseeking process.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
"Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals." A website user guide can be found here.
City of Boston: Funding Update
Boston's "Funding Update" is a listing of funding opportunities, recent grant awards, announcements, and news from local, state, federal and private sources. The Update is free and available on this website or by email.
Fundsnet Services.com: Massachusetts Grants
Self-described as "one the most comprehensive Fundraising & Grantwriting information sites of its kind on the Internet today, is a privately owned Web site created in 1996 for the purpose of providing Nonprofit Organizations, Colleges and Universities with information on financial resources available on the Internet." This is a corporate website (with ads and links to things like "cookie dough" fundraising). I am including this page which lists Bay State foundations (although some of the links to the grantors are dead). It might be worth a browse, as long as you avoid the come-ons.
GrantCraft
A project of the Foundation Center and the European Foundation Centre, this website is supposed to provide useful information on grantmaking. However, to download or view reports you must register. They say "Downloading our guides and other learning tools takes a brief one-time registration. From there on all materials may be downloaded without cost." Appears to be especially strong in European insights.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov was established as a governmental resource named the E-Grants Initiative, part of the President's 2002 Fiscal Year Management Agenda to improve government services to the public. Today, Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards. You can search for grants, and pages link to the issuing agency.
Mass.Gov Portal
State funding opportunities are available through individual agencies, only. We know of no centralized office. So, it might be worth simply typing in the issue or topic along with the word funding or grants into the general search box in the upper right of this page and exploring the webpages retrieved.
Massachusetts Cultural Council (MCC): LCC Grants
This state agency promotes excellence, access, education, and diversity in the arts, humanities, and interpretive sciences through grant programs, partnerships, and services for nonprofit cultural organizations, schools, communities, and artists. Grants are administered through Local Cultural Council (LCC) Programs. Find yours and get more information here.
National Science Foundation: Find Funding
Browse an A-Z list or look at listings by program area. Or simply search in "Funding Opportunities" through the search box.
Science Careers: Grants & Funding
Science Magazine used to sponsor a handy site called GrantsNet. This has been retired. But this Grants & Funding page still has some useful links to additional resources related to science and technology research funding.
USDA: Rural Information Center: A Guide to Funding Resources
This is a nice basic guide with links to information not just on funding sources, but also to grant writing information.

Big Corporate Givers

CECP The CEO Force for Good: Giving in Numbers
"Giving in Numbers: 2016 Edition is based on data from 272 companies. This report not only presents a profile of corporate philanthropy and employee engagement, but also includes a Trends Summary that highlights the prominent features of corporate societal investment."
Forbes: American Companies that Give Back the Most, 2012
"Each year The Chronicle of Philanthropy does a major project on corporate giving, and compiles two lists, one that tallies philanthropy in terms of raw dollars and another that looks at giving as a share of pre-tax profits. The magazine’s 2012 lists look at 2011 giving as a share of 2010 profits."
Aggregate Fiscal Data of Corporate Foundations in the U.S.
Foundation Center provides an easily readable, powerful and freely accessible dashboard of corporate giving data. From the number of corporations engaged in giving, to the total amount of gifts received, this resource is valuable to all who wish to explore corporate giving data at the national or state level. Use "trend view" feature to display data going back to 2002.