Immigration Resource Guide: Statistics

The foreign-born population includes anyone who is not a U.S. citizen at birth, including those who have become U.S. citizens through naturalization. Includes reports and detailed, downloadable data. Information on the foreign-born population in the United States based on American Community Survey data is available through the American FactFinder.

The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics provides tables of data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, including those admitted as immigrants or legal permanent residents, admitted on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook includes data on immigration enforcement actions. Data available from 2004 forward.

TRAC is an "effort to systematically go after very detailed information from the government, check it for accuracy and completeness and then make it available in an understandable way to the American people, Congress, immigration groups and others." Includes Reports covering various topics, Government Studies produced by the GAO, Department of Homeland Security, and the Congressional Research Service, and Facts & Figures taken from immigration courts, asylum reports, border patrol reports, and other processes.

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Allows downloadable, user-defined tables. For use by the Suffolk University community.

“The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.” MPI's work is organized around four research topics: Migration Management, Refugee Protection and International Humanitarian Response, North American Borders and Migration Agenda, and Immigrant Settlement and Integration. Publications (reports and fact sheets are available for download. The Immigration Data Hub offers up-to-date immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides migration statistics in the International Migration Database. Data is available for download and user customization.

The World Bank provides data covering migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, compiled from available data from various sources.

“The United Nations Statistics Division collects data on flows of migrants through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system.” There are sixteen tables of international migration statistics which are collected by the Demographic Yearbook. Contributing countries provide data by completing questionnaires.

The ILO seeks to “promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.” See Statistics by Topic and choose International Labor Migration or choose Statistics by Country to locate available migrant data within specific countries.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Eurostat’s publications covering migration and asylum are readily available for download.