Garrity Decision Research Guide
- Garrity Decision Research Guide (Moakley Archive)Use this guide for background information about the busing crisis in Boston and lists of primary and secondary research sources available in the Sawyer Library and the Moakley Archive Suffolk University.
Biography of Joe Moakley
- Joe Moakley's Journey byISBN: 155553807XPublication Date: 2013-06-11
Moakley Archive and Institute
The Moakley Archive and Institute contains research resources related to the topic of Boston’s school desegregation crisis in the 1970s, including:
- Congressman John Joseph Moakley Papers: includes legislative files, correspondence, press files, reports and research on Boston’s schools and voters, campaign files.
- Moakley Oral History Interviews: interviews of teachers, students, politicians, and citizens impacted by Boston’s busing crisis.
- Garrity Decision Research Guide: an overview of the crisis and research resources available at Suffolk’s Moakley Archive and Institute.
- Moakley Archive Digital Collections: use search terms “busing” and “school integration” to view digitized items.
Contact: 617.305.6277 | archives@suffolk.edu
Location: 73 Tremont St., Sawyer Library, 3rd Floor, Suffolk University
Hours: 9-4:30, M-F
Moakley Archive Digital Collections
- Digitized CollectionsBrowse our digital portal to view letters, memos, audio and video related to the busing controversy. Use search terms such as:“busing” and “school integration," and "Boston Public Schools."
Ask an Archivist
Save yourself some time! Ask us about:
- Topics, search strategies and relevant sources
- Online sources
- Help using databases and citation tips
617.305.6293 | archives@suffolk.edu