Primary Source:
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
- Tallulah MORGAN et al., Plaintiffs, v. James W. HENNIGAN et al., DefendantsFull text of the 1974 'Garrity Decision.'
Background Information
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn depth reports, each with an overview, historical background, chronology, and pro/con feature.
A search for the term busing, returns 64 reports, several of which date back to the 1970's.
Search for Books in the OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog)
- Keyword search:
Boston AND busingThe link above performs a Keyword Search in the online catalog to look for books on the busing crisis in Boston. The resulting list has 52 items, 15 of which are located in the Sawyer Library.
Note: Missing from the results above is the title: " The Boston School Decision : the text of Judge W. Arthur Garrity Jr.'s decision of June 21, 1974 in its entirety." This is because the term 'busing' is does not appear in the item record. A search for:
Garrity AND Boston will generate this title. - Subject search:
Discrimination in education -- Law and legislation -- Massachusetts -- BostonOnce an appropriate item has been found with a Keyword search, follow the Subject Heading(s) displayed in the item record, to gather other items that share the same subject. - Keyword search:
school integration AND BostonYou may need to vary your search terms. In this example school integration has been substituted for busing.
Secondary Source: Newspaper Articles
- Boston Globe 1872-2007 This link opens in a new window
Updated: Full text and searchable digitized version of the Boston Globe from 1872 through 2007.
- New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new windowFull text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)
Secondary Source: Scholarly Articles
With the exception of JSTOR, which only contains scholarly journals, the periodical databases listed below offer a mixture of scholarly and non-scholarly content. Typically there is an option to limit search results to scholarly (or peer reviewed) content.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA highly selective, multidisciplinary collection of over 1500 academic journals. The Sawyer Library has enhanced this collection with additional subscriptions in the life sciences, business studies, and Irish studies.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials, periodical articles, reference works, and multimedia. Over 375 topic pages offer organized collections of resources about people, events, movements, and ideas from the precolonial period to the present.
